Douglas County officials certify 2019 general election results

photo by: Nick Krug

A steady flow of early voters file through the old Douglas County Courthouse on Wednesday, Oct. 19, 2016.

Monday’s canvass of the 2019 general election results confirmed the winners for the Lawrence City Commission and Lawrence school board races.

The Douglas County Clerk’s Office released the official results of the Nov. 5 election after the County Commission certified the results.

The official results confirmed that Brad Finkeldei, Courtney Shipley and Stuart Boley were elected to the Lawrence City Commission, and Erica Hill, Shannon Kimball, Carole Cadue-Blackwood and Paula Smith were elected to the Lawrence school board.

The official results of the 2019 general election are available on the Douglas County website,

Lawrence City Commission

Brad Finkeldei: 8,281 – 21.88%

Courtney Shipley: 7,421 – 19.61%

Stuart Boley: 6,532 – 17.26%

Joey Hentzler: 6,257 – 16.53%

Rob Sands: 5,955 – 15.73%

Ken Easthouse: 3,221 – 8.51%

WRITE-IN: 179 – 0.47%

Lawrence School Board

Erica Hill: 9,832 – 23.01%

Shannon Kimball: 8,964 – 20.98%

Carole Cadue-Blackwood: 8,930 – 20.90%

Paula Smith: 7,523 – 17.61%

Thea Perry: 7,198 – 16.85%

WRITE-IN: 283 – 0.66%

Contact Dylan Lysen

Have a story idea, news or information to share? Contact reporter Dylan Lysen:


Welcome to the new Our old commenting system has been replaced with Facebook Comments. There is no longer a separate username and password login step. If you are already signed into Facebook within your browser, you will be able to comment. If you do not have a Facebook account and do not wish to create one, you will not be able to comment on stories.