LJWorld.com weblogs Heard on the Hill

Disaster-affected students can defer tuition, fee payments


State university students from 43 Kansas counties that were affected by natural disasters the past few months now have the option to defer tuition and fee payments, which are normally due next month, the Kansas Board of Regents announced today.Currently included in the plan are students from Greensburg, which was ravaged by a May tornado, and Coffeyville, which was flooded in June. Students from 19 other Kansas counties affected by the June flooding, including Franklin, Osage and Miami counties, also qualify.According to the Regents office, and an April enrollment survey, 21,004 students from the 43 storm- and flood-damaged counties attended the six state universities during the fall semester in 2006."Students that have been affected by the recent natural disasters have had more immediate and pressing concerns than tuition due dates," said Christine Downey-Schmidt, chairwoman of the Board of Regents. This policy affects students who attend Kansas University and Emporia State, Fort Hays State, Kansas State, Pittsburg State and Wichita State universities.The universities will waive late payment penalties and develop individual deferred payment plans for those students. To qualify for the extension, students need to call the bursar or financial office at their university.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.