LJWorld.com weblogs Statehouse Live

Kansas representatives illustrate divide over farm bill


The chasm over the farm bill in Congress is no more evident than in Kansas where six conservative Republicans from an agriculture state are divided on the issue.

On Thursday, the farm bill failed in the U.S. House, splitting the Kansas delegation.

U.S. Reps. Lynn Jenkins, of Topeka, whose district includes Lawrence, and Kevin Yoder, of Overland Park, voted for it, while Mike Pompeo, of Wichita, and Tim Huelskamp, of Hutchinson, were among the 62 Republicans who voted against it. The bill failed in the House, 195-234.

Jenkins blamed the failure in the House on the inability to find common ground.

" … still too many Democrats and Republicans allowed politics to trump progress, and chose to defeat this bipartisan effort. I am truly disappointed by today's vote to accept a badly broken status quo," she said.

The Senate has approved a farm bill, but Kansas' senators were on opposite sides. Jerry Moran voted for it and Roberts opposed it.

In the House, Republicans voting against the bill argued it was too expensive. Most Democrats opposed the measure because it included cuts to food stamps that would have removed as many as 2 million recipients from getting assistance.

The Senate version decreased food stamps by about one-fifth of the House bill. The White House had said it supported the Senate bill and would have vetoed the House bill.


yourworstnightmare 4 years, 4 months ago

That two senators from rural areas of the same state can come to such different conclusions is telling.

This vote had more to do with politics rather than the merits of the bill.

riverdrifter 4 years, 4 months ago

"… still too many Democrats and Republicans allowed politics to trump progress, and chose to defeat this bipartisan effort."

Sorry, Lynn, but you have zero conception of the term "bipartisan". Try again.

skull 4 years, 4 months ago

I blame the failure in the house on Jenkins.

Bob Burton 4 years, 3 months ago

Boy are you guys out in left field. This should not be called a farm bill, it should be called a food stamp bill or SNAP. We need to rain in government, it is to big..

skull 4 years, 3 months ago

You DO realize that sw Kansas is a region that takes more in federal benefits than it pays in taxes?

Lefty54 4 years, 3 months ago

Your reply says it all. You complain about the size of the federal government yet republican dominated Kansas is one of the leaders in taking federal money.

Look up hypocrite in the dictionary and it says "See republican".

Bob Burton 4 years, 3 months ago

You democrats should look at Detroit, Michigan and then say is this what we stand for. Then you should hang your head in shame.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.