Advertisement

Previous   Next

Do you read reviews before checking out a new book or film? If so, from where?

Asked at Hastings, 1900 W. 23rd St. on November 8, 2011

Browse the archives

Photo of Amber Christ

“Amazon.com for books, movies and everything. I’d rather not have reviews from professionals, they’re slanted.”

Photo of Julie Morris

“Rotten Tomatoes. I don’t often agree with them, but I look.”

Photo of Mitch Rorabaugh

“I do for movies but not books. I read movie reviews from newspapers and occasionally online.”

Photo of Elizabeth Henley

“I pick movies through word of mouth and books by my favorite authors and by recommendations.”

Comments

RoeDapple 3 years, 1 month ago

Sometimes. Usually just read the summary on the jacket/intro on books. Youtube trailers for movies.

rockchalker52 3 years, 1 month ago

I do it like Elizabeth does. Maybe give some weight to a movie review once in a while.

Have you ever read a great book & then thought about casting it as a movie? Me neither, but if I ever were to do that, I wouldn't pick Katherine Heigl to play Stephanie Plum. Neither would I pick Tom Cruise to play anyone in anything, let alone play Lee Child's marine vet hero, Jack Reacher. Why is it that the wrong people are always in charge of everything?

Plum, Janet Evanovich's madcap heroine, might could be played by Anne Hathaway or Keira Knightley, somebody like that, but I guess Heigl has already stuck in her thumb & is cast as Plum. Fascinating.

Kendall Simmons 3 years, 1 month ago

I want to see Jason Statham as Jack Reacher!!!

somedude20 3 years, 1 month ago

I usually watch the porn version first and if that is good then I will watch the movie

labmonkey 3 years, 1 month ago

There are no movies worth going to... so many times my wife and I would like to go watch a movie, but there is absolutely nothing in the theater worth watching. Hollywood can do nothing but remakes, reboots, and comic books. And God forbid there be a movie without some kind of political preaching underlying everything.

labmonkey 3 years, 1 month ago

As for books, I used to love browsing Borders history section and find something that jumped out at me.... I probably spent $500 a year at Borders. I really don't want to go to Barnes and Noble, but that seems to be my only choice (not really a big fan of Amazon... just something about going into a bookstore and making an impulse purchase).

RoeDapple 3 years, 1 month ago

"Don't need reviews for the Bible. It is the final word."

"Samar'ia shall bear her guilt, because she has rebelled against her God; they shall fall by the sword, their little ones shall be dashed in pieces, and their pregnant women ripped open." Hosea 13:16

Well I don't know 'bout you but I'm off for an afternoon of rippin' and dashin' . . .

. . . or not.

rockchalker52 3 years, 1 month ago

I might need to pay closer attention to the TV reviews. Watched an hour-long NCIS LA last night. Prayed for 42 minutes straight (time-outs for commercial breaks) that it would end. It finally did. 42 must be the magic number.

ohjayhawk 3 years, 1 month ago

42 is the Answer to the Ultimate Quesiton of Life, the Universe, and Everything.

beatrice 3 years, 1 month ago

p>metacritic.com

They have a rating system that can give you the general reactions of critics without actually having to read their reviews. I want to know if people think a movie is good or not, but I don't want to read the reviews. Most critics give too much of the story away. They also have a section for everyday viewers. I like that, too.

somedude20 3 years, 1 month ago

nope, a family of fat hicks (except that blond chick) in Texas who run around the land hootin and a hollerin and shootin their guns trying to catch wild boars (and the boars are just as fat and gross as the hicks). The dad needs and has a translator so you know what kind of dumb remark he is trying to make. The little fat girl, she has a pig face and thinks she is all that (not even a big fish in a little pond) and her even fatter brother, who would be apt at a klan rally, is just as dumb as his pops.

RoeDapple 3 years, 1 month ago

Paint it black. Nobody questions a black helicopter. Nobody.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.