Graduates from KU’s aerospace design team win numerous awards

Each member of Kansas University’s aerospace engineering department class of 2014 won one or more international aerospace awards in a recent competition.

“These prizes show off the fact that the KU Aerospace Engineering Department is training students and partners who will have not only the relevant skill sets to support the state’s largest manufacturing industry, but they are the best in the world at what they do,” said Ron Barrett-Gonzalez, director of the aircraft design laboratory at KU.

This past week, the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) announced its final batch of winners and KU students won numerous prizes including first place in the team category for a design of a turboprop transport.

Barrett-Gonzalez said it was the first time in AIAA design competitions that all members of a given graduating class from one university won international awards.

The graduating team was Brandon Wilfred Basgall, Luis Carlos Berges, Katie Constant, Samuel J. Cott, Adam D’Silva, Sean Eli Derry, Adrian Kok Chiang Lee, Julian Patrick McCafferty, Alejandro Stefania Escalera Mendoza, Sunayan Mullick, James Bradford Adams Sellers, Alex Edward Sizemore, Nathan Allen Smith, Ryan Chorngren Su, Emily Christine Thompson, Luiz Felipe Toledo, Mary Pat Whittaker, and Yinglong Xu.