Archive for Friday, February 28, 2014

League of Women Voters wants to honor person who promotes open government

February 28, 2014


The Lawrence-Douglas County League of Women Voters is seeking nominations for the Helen Fluker Award, which recognizes an individual for promoting open and accessible government.

Nominees must be Douglas County residents older than 18 whose efforts promote improvement in government, either as a volunteer or as an extension of his or her employment. The award is given in honor of the late Helen Fluker, a long-time League member.

More information and nomination forms are on the League’s website,, or can be received by calling Caroljean Brune at 785-764-5130. The deadline for submission is March 7.


Cille King 3 years, 12 months ago

Helen and Bob Fluker had an active career in government service. She often spoke of how while in government service, she was never allowed to influence policy, could only support policies of the government, and could not be a League member. After retiring and settling in Lawrence in 1974, she became active in the community and several volunteer organizations including the League of Women Voters.

With sincere dedication, she served as local president and on the board of directors of the local and state Leagues for many years. She valued her membership, the kind of research the League did, and its goals of active citizen participation in government. After her death in 1998, this award was established by the League with the help of her family. We honor her commitment to the League by honoring some of the “unsung heroes” in our community.

Past recipients are Mary Michener (2000), Hilda Enoch (2001), Larry Kipp (2002), Betty Lichtwardt (2003), Allan and Louise Hanson (2004), Mary Davidson (2005), Forrest Swall (2006), Jessie Branson (2007), Marci Francisco (2008), Jamie Shew (2009), Margaret Farley (2010), Dave Ranney (2011), Scott Criqui (2012), and Mitzi McFatrich (2013). See the website:

Commenting has been disabled for this item.