Archive for Tuesday, October 1, 2013

Finalists for Ex.C.E.L Award named

October 1, 2013


Ten Kansas University seniors have been named finalists for the 23rd annual Excellence in Community, Education and Leadership Awards, with the two winners to be named at halftime of the Kansas-Texas Tech game Saturday.

Five men and women make up the group. One male and female will be named winners and receive an annual $500 scholarship. Finalists were selected based on leadership, communication skills, involvement in the KU and Lawrence communities and academics.

The finalists, chosen by representatives of various student organizations, include: Danny Sanchez, Will Dale, Bryne Gonzales, Addison Keegan-Harris, Natalie Scott, Nicole Nunes, Jill Wenderott, Alexandra Null, Preston Barr and Esteban Marquez.

Applicants must be full-time undergraduate KU students with a grade point average of 3.0 or higher.

Of the 10 finalists, seven come from the state of Kansas, with the other three hailing from Oklahoma, Indiana and Puerto Rico. In-state finalists include those from Lenexa, Topeka, Wichita and Alma. All 10 will also participate in Thursday's Homecoming parade along Massachusetts Street.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.