Archive for Saturday, May 18, 2013

Kansas rowing places fourth at C-USA

May 18, 2013


— Kansas University placed fourth at the 11-team Conference USA Rowing Championship on Saturday, and KU’s Olivia Kinet was named to the All-Conference USA team.

Oklahoma won the team title with 63 points and was followed by Tennessee (57), Texas (56) and Kansas (50).

“The last couple years, we have been recruiting hard, and we are trying to get to the point where we can compete with those top-three teams,” KU head coach Rob Catloth said. “We are in the ballpark of where we want to be and where we are trying to take the program to.”

KU was one of four schools to qualify for the Grand Final in each event.

In the scoring events, Kansas placed fourth in the Varsity Four and First Varsity Eight races and third in the Second Varsity Eight grand finals.

“One of our goals at the start of the year was to get all three scoring boats in the Grand Final, and we surpassed that by getting all six boats in,” Catloth said. “We came back in the afternoon and competed really well. Your goal is to compete at the highest level at the end-of-the-year championship, and we were right there.”

Oklahoma will join 10 other automatic qualifiers at the NCAA Championships May 30-June 3.

The NCAA will announce 11 at-large teams Tuesday.

Team scores: Oklahoma 63, Tennessee 57, Texas 56, Kansas 50, Kansas State 37, West Virginia 36, Old Dominion 27, UCF 25, Tulsa 21, Alabama 14, SMU 10.

Kansas boats

First Varsity Eight — Coxswain Olivia Catloth, Caity Decker, Olivia Kinet, Alex Torquemada, Liz Scherer, Maggie Duncan, Brooke Thuston, Katy Evans, Laura Benz,

Second Varsity Eight — Coxswain Caty Clements, Julia Alvey, Cheyenne Verdoorn, Claudi Lever, Erin Brogan, Jennifer Hartzler, Amanda Lewis, Danielle Adam, Jade Lambkins.

Varsity Four — Coxswain Katy MacCormack, Emily Starr, Emma Umbarger, Jessica Miller, Kaylee Sextro.

Open Four A — Coxswain Sarah Lasini, Andrea Joyce, Eileen Gallagher, Angie Flores, Carley Iverson.

Open Four B — Coxswain Abbey Lozenski, Allie Griffin, Meghan Cahill, Ashlyn Midyett, Kelsie Fiss.

Novice Eight — Coxswain Mary Slattery, Jessie Jacob , Jessica Scheer, Breeona Foster, Stephanie Walker, Lauren Miller, Tess Scott, Jackie Adamle, Clarissa Holt Bates


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.