For about two weeks starting Monday, police will make a special effort to pull over and cite drivers who are not wearing their seat belts.
Lawrence police are joining more than 140 other Kansas law enforcement agencies in the 2013 Click it or Ticket enforcement campaign from Monday until June 2, when officers throughout the state will aggressively enforce seat belt laws and other traffic violations, according to a news release from the Lawrence Police Department.
The enforcement effort is paid for through a grant provided by the Kansas Department of Transportation. Sixty-three percent of fatal-accident victims in Kansas in 2012 were not wearing seat belts, according to KDOT studies.
Officers can stop drivers solely for seat-belt violations and cite them as well as any passengers who are not wearing seat belts. Kansas law mandates a minimum ticket of $60 for drivers and passengers ages 14 to 17 who are cited for not wearing a seat belt. The ticket is $10 for those 18 and older.