Archive for Friday, May 3, 2013

Big 12 honors KU track athletes

May 3, 2013


Kansas University put 22 student-athletes on the Academic All-Big 12 Track & Field teams.

Nine KU women made the first team: seniors Heather Bergmann, Sarah Hedberg and Kathleen Thompson, who earned a spot on the team for the third time in their careers; senior Denesha Morris and juniors Natalie Becker and Abby Row, on the first team for the second time; and first-time first-teamers senior Devin Wiegers, junior Timmie Morris and sophomore Jaimie House.

On the men’s side, eight Jayhawks earned a spot on the first team. Senior Kaman Schneider and juniors Dalen Fink, Josh Munsch and Nick Seckfort made the first-team list for the second straight year. First-time first-teamers were junior Alex Bishop and sophomores Aaron Blevins, Reid Buchanan and Evan Landes.

Kansas’ second-team picks were seniors Alena Krechyk, Rebecca Neville and Tessa Turcotte on the women’ side and senior Josh Baden and junior Brendan Soucie for the men.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.