Lawrence police will patrol for seat belt law violations Tuesday night, according to Sgt. Trent McKinley, a Lawrence Police Department spokesman.
Kansas law mandates a minimum of a $60 ticket for drivers and passengers ages 14 to 17 who are cited for not wearing a seat belt. The ticket is $10 for those 18 and older.
Police can stop a car for the sole reason of a seat belt violation in the front seats of the vehicle, according to state law. If the back seat passengers are the only ones in violation, police can only cite them if they have also been cited for another violation.
Sixty-three percent of Kansas fatality accident victims in 2012 were not wearing seat belts, according to the Kansas Department of Transportation. On average, 88 percent of Kansas motorists did wear them.
The effort to conduct special nighttime seat belt enforcement is part of the Nighttime Seat belt Enforcement Program, paid for through a grant funded by KDOT.