Archive for Saturday, January 12, 2013

Around and About for Jan. 12, 2013

January 12, 2013


The following area students were recently initiated into the Phi Kappa Phi collegiate honor society: Cara Yuen of Ottawa, who is pursuing a degree in animal science at Kansas State University; Wei Cai, of Lawrence, who is pursuing a degree in electrical engineering at Kansas University; Beth Prittie, of Lawrence, who is pursuing a degree in clinical psychology at Washburn University; and Connie Hood, of Meriden, who is pursuing a degree in health services administration at Washburn University.

Army Reserve Pfc. Luke A. Billquist, a 2012 graduate of Basehor-Linwood High School, has graduated from basic combat training at Fort Sill, Lawton, Okla. During the nine weeks of training, Billquist studied the Army mission and received instruction and training exercises in drill and ceremonies, Army history, core values and traditions, military courtesy, military justice, physical fitness, first aid, rifle marksmanship, weapons use, map reading and land navigation, foot marches, armed and unarmed combat, and field maneuvers and tactics.

Washburn University has released its 2012 fall semester Dean’s Honor Roll. To be named to the list, a student must be enrolled in at least 12 graded semester credit hours and attain a semester GPA between 3.4 and 3.99. Area students are listed by their hometowns.

Baldwin City: Alison Berg, Charlie Cooper, Alexandria Zordel.

Basehor: Eleanor Heimbaugh, Katelyn Staab.

De Soto: Kelsey Bliss, Andrew Rhodes.

Eudora: Carrie Neis, Nusret Ozakinci, Kaitlyn Werst;

Lawrence: Kelli Ambrose, Sheridan Arnett, Michael Barber, Kristen Bell, Cora Bloom, Cody Bonham, Kayla Briggs, Melanie Brown, Brittany Bruhns, Lauren Byrn, Emily Cross, Ashley Ellis, Scott Friesen, Laura Groves, Abby Hanson, Haley Hanson, Christopher Helt, Lisa Hixson,

Cynthia Hoover, Stephen Lockling, Emily Meyer, Mavis Meyer, Heather Miller, Amy Mowery, Christopher Porto, Allyson Renick, Ashley Russell, Stephanie Russo, Christina Seeley, Jessica Stogsdill, Lauren Weddell, Elizabeth Wiebe, Katie Workman.

Lecompton: Jeffrey Herschell.

McLouth: Allison Bristol, Derrick Crouse, Alexa DePriest, Corinne Hoffhines, Haley Holwick; Jeri Holwick.

Oskaloosa: Kristin Brey, Eric Drinkard, Keri Heston.

Overbrook: Erika Foster, Jacqueline Woodruff.

Perry: Stephanie Brigham, Michelle Cox, Charis Fisher, Trey Moss.

Tonganoxie: Ashley Kotowske.

Wellsville: Savanna Wilson.

Washburn University has released its 2012 fall semester President’s Honor Roll. To be named to the list, a student must be enrolled in at least 12 graded semester credit hours and attain a semester GPA of 4.0. Area students are listed by their hometown.

Baldwin City: Chloe Gaylord, Kara Protasio.

Basehor: Emily Engler.

Lawrence: Kimberly Adams, Maryam Alruwaythi, Erin Anderson, Gretchen Auten, Kyleigh Bowen, Sarah Brock, Tiana Byers, Amy Day, Anne Duston, Chelsea Johnson, Jonathan McIntire, Adesuwa Okoya, Cameron Owens, Tyson Paulson, Daphne Phillips, Sarah Plowman, Katarzyna Potocka, Mark Randtke, Daneka Vann.

McLouth: Cassidy Bristol, Richard Morris.

Oskaloosa: Haley Adam.

Perry: Katherine Child, Rebecca Prosser, Chelsea Williams.

Tonganoxie: Stephanie Steele.

Wellsville: Trenton Meyer.

Air National Guard Airman 1st Class Tyler A. Leed, a 2012 graduate of Jefferson West High School, Meriden, graduated from basic military training at Lackland Air Force Base in San Antonio. He completed an intensive, eight-week program that included training in military discipline and studies, Air Force core values, physical fitness, and basic warfare principles and skills.

Rachel Collinge of Tonganoxie has been named to Harding University Dean’s List in Searcy, Ark. To be eligible, a student must be carrying 12 or more hours with a 3.65 or higher GPA and no incompletes.

The following area students, listed by hometown, are included on Fort Hays State University’s Deans Honor Roll for the fall 2012 semester. The roll includes only full-time undergraduate students who earned at least a 3.60 GPA for the semester.

Baldwin City: Morgan Linder, Amie Musselman, Elizabeth Sigvaldson.

Eudora: Melissa Cole.

Lawrence: Cathryn Cooper, Janessa Larmer, Jamie Larsen, Pace Leggins, Elizabeth Lewis, Sarah Nichols, Tanna Ross, Cameron Shoemaker, Kelcie Spencer.

Ottawa: Eric Crook, Michael Ritzel, Ashley Rowan.

Perry: Stacie Adams, Savannah Stevens.

Tecumseh: Thurman Fulton.

Tonganoxie: Tracie Hileman.

Wellsville: Bobbi Pearce.

Bethel College in North Newtont has announced academic honors lists for the fall 2012 semester.

Dean’s List (3.7 to 4.0 semester GPA): Leah Towle and Kaitlin Heller, both of Lawrence.

Honor Roll (3.5 to 3.69 GPA): Lisa Goering, Anna Cook and Genevieve Rucker, all of Lawrence.

Julia Davidson, of Lawrence, has been named to the dean’s list of Macalester College in St. Paul, Minn., for academic achievement during the 2012 fall semester. To be eligible, a student must have been registered as a full-timeand have achieved a semester GPA of at least 3.75.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.