Advertisement

Archive for Thursday, January 3, 2013

25 years ago: New year, new laws for Kansas motorists

January 3, 2013

Advertisement

From the Lawrence Daily Journal-World for Jan. 3, 1988:

Several new laws took effect this week in various parts of the U.S. Drivers suspected of being intoxicated stood to lose their licenses on the spot under new laws in Arizona and Wisconsin, and couples getting married were to face mandatory AIDS testing in Louisiana and Illinois. Texas was imposing a tax on data processing, North Carolina was raising its corporate income tax, gasoline taxes were going up in Oregon, and cigarette smokers in Michigan were to pay 4 cents more per pack. Wisconsin was to begin a phase-out of its inheritance tax and California was attempting to enforce a no-smoking rule on planes, trains, and buses. Wyoming would no longer allow hunters with elk licenses to take a black bear as well, California was permitting alcohol sales in nudist camps, and South Dakota became the last of the 50 states to begin enforcing a law requiring small children to be protected by seat belts or safety seats in automobiles. Minor changes were in store for Kansas drivers, with the state's motor vehicle title fees increasing and motorists receiving new license plates which would no longer have permanent county designations (the two-letter county code would instead be contained in a sticker in the corner of the tag). The most significant change was in the state's law governing lawsuits stemming from automobile accidents. Under the new law, the amount of damages a person could sue was increasing from $500 to $2,000. The new law also increased the minimum personal injury protection benefits required in car insurance policies from $2,000 to $4,500 per person.

Comments

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.