Arts Center signs big names to its first National Advisory Board

As the Lawrence Arts Center looks to expand its reach in terms of audience and financial support, leaders hope a team of big names from the region and beyond can help.

The Arts Center on Friday announced members of its first National Advisory Board.

The five members are people whom Arts Center staff and board of directors members have consulted in recent years in an informal capacity, executive director Susan Tate said.

“We are very interested in seeking the advice of experts in performance, arts education and exhibitions, which is what this group represents,” Tate said.

National Advisory Board members are Rocco Landesman, chairman emeritus of ArtPlace, president emeritus of Jujamcyn Theaters and retired chairman of the National Endowment for the Arts; Mike Michaelis, chairman of Emprise Bank, Wichita; Deanell Reece Tacha, professor of Law and dean of Pepperdine School of Law, Malibu, Calif.; Judith Sabatini, artist and philanthropist, Topeka; and Roger Shimomura, artist and distinguished professor emeritus, Kansas University.

“Beginning with Deanell Tacha, who led the campaign to build 940 New Hampshire Street, each of our advisers has a close connection to our work, and I’m very enthusiastic about naming this wise and bold group and continuing to seek their counsel,” Tate said.

The goal is for the national board to provide valuable connections, ideas, experience and influence for the Arts Center’s vision, Tate said. Its strategic five-year plan includes maintaining financial sustainability, enhancing stature of visiting and resident artist programs, increasing support for regional visual and performing artists and maintaining a robust scholarship program and a commitment to a vibrant cultural district.

Also on Friday, the Arts Center announced its board of directors for 2013-2014, a group that includes six new faces and seven returning members.

New members of the board of directors are Jean Anderson, community volunteer; Tim Caboni, vice chancellor for public affairs and associate professor of educational leadership and policy studies, Kansas University; Matt Gilhousen, chief development officer for Tradewind Energy, Lenexa; Diane Horning, CPA, artist and former owner of Diane’s Artisan Gallery; Sheryl Jacobs, retired senior vice president, Quest Diagnostics Inc.; and Tony Krsnich, of Landmark Investment Group, Kansas City, Mo.

Returning members are board president Dan Schriner, retired partner, Accenture; vice president Tom Carmody, filmmaker and restaurateur; treasurer Larry S. Chance, vice president, Commercial Lending, Emprise Bank; Emily Bowersock Hill, first vice president, family wealth director, portfolio manager, CFP at Morgan Stanley; Joan Golden, senior vice president, US Bank; Brian J. Horsch, president and CEO The EyeDoctors, Optometrists; Michel Loomis, retired teacher; Molly Murphy, artist; Jim Otten, DDS; Dru Sampson, community volunteer; and Evan Williams, Evan Williams Catering.