Archive for Wednesday, September 19, 2012

Kansas holds no texting while driving day

September 19, 2012

Advertisement

— Kansas outlawed texting while driving last year, but officials are going an extra mile to make sure everyone knows the law.

A proclamation signed by Gov. Sam Brownback designated Wednesday as "No Text on Board Pledge Day."

The Kansas Department of Transportation planned to flash messages on electronic billboards along state roads reminding drivers not to text behind the wheel.

Brownback's office says a recent study that found people who text while driving are 23 times more likely to crash.

The 2011 state law provides for a $60 fine for any driver cited for texting.

Comments

kernal 2 years, 10 months ago

Good luck with that!

Maybe a $1,000.00 first timer fine will get the message across.

jesse499 2 years, 10 months ago

No one knows are cares about the rules of the road now why would a $1000 fine make a diff on texting. No one can even make a turn from right lane to right lane or left to left lane like the Dl handbook says but then you do have to read it to no what it says don't you?

jhawkinsf 2 years, 10 months ago

No texting day should be expanded to no driving while on any electronic device and then expanded to every day.

grammaddy 2 years, 10 months ago

New cars should be built with a device that kills the signal while the engine is running.

kernal 2 years, 10 months ago

Not sure today's technology can do that without killing the entire signal for the cell phone so that it couldn't be used for 911 calls while on the road.

Keith 2 years, 10 months ago

Or something that kills the engine instead.

beatrice 2 years, 10 months ago

Isn't that the plot twist that makes all electrical components go kapoot on that new tv show?

chootspa 2 years, 10 months ago

The officers enforcing this ironically now have a giant computer monitor mounted next to the on the dash.

Fossick 2 years, 10 months ago

What if you text like a pirate today?

Katara 2 years, 10 months ago

Wouldn't it just be "r" in text speak?

Lawrence Morgan 2 years, 10 months ago

I know someone who almost got killed and almost killed someone else while texting. I think the fine should be much higher than it currently is.

I also can't believe people don't signal when they turn. Signaling can save many lives.

I think if $500 was the fine, and signs were put up (which they can do in an attractive way) all over the state, texting would be drastically reduced immediately.

kernal 2 years, 10 months ago

Like the State of New Mexico did in the 1980's for seat belts. It worked for me!

beatrice 2 years, 10 months ago

Day???

The fine for a first offense should be the loss of thumbs.

mac 2 years, 10 months ago

The sign I saw yesterday said "Please don't text and drive, it can wait"

Please? Please !!!

How about "DON'T text and drive, it's the law!"

Commenting has been disabled for this item.