Around and About for Nov. 3, 2012

Registered nurse Amanda Galyardt, of Lawrence, has won the $1,000 George E. Devane CRNA Scholarship presented by the Kansas Nurses Foundation. Galyardt is enrolled in the Kansas University nurse anesthesia program.

A total of 248 seniors from high schools in Johnson County will be recognized Monday for their academic achievements and named Kansas Honor Scholars. The following students from De Soto High School are among the honorees: Connor Berg, Rhiannon Caldwell, Emily Campbell, Jeannett Clampitt, Amanda DeBrabander, Shelby Deghand, Katherine Gehrt, Ramsey Heer, Julie Hopkins, Jessica Knaack, Laura Krska, Laura Meyers, Magdaline Oberle, Maria Pileski, Katherine Sosna, Christian Sweeney, Sophia Templin,

Katelyn Turner, Paige Williams.

Shane Gimzo, of Lawrence, was awarded the Dick Peters Scholarship during Ottawa University’s annual Braves Athletic Hall of Fame Banquet Oct. 25. Gimzo is a three-year letter winner on the Braves football team.