Ex-Haskell coach headed to Hall

May 30, 2012


The National Football Foundation last week revealed the names of the seven inductees into this year’s Hall of Fame Divisional Class.

Included among them was a man who spent four seasons coaching football at Haskell Indian Nations University.

The late William “Lone Star” Dietz, who coached at Haskell from 1929-32, was one of three coaches in this year’s class. His time at Haskell came late in his career after stops at Washington State (1915-17), Purdue (1921), Louisiana Tech (1922-23) and Wyoming (1924-26). After leaving Haskell, Dietz coached at Albright in Pennsylvania from 1937-42. He finished his career with a 96-62-7 record.

Dietz was joined in this year’s class by former players Chris Bisaillon (Illinois Wesleyan), Jim Holder (Oklahoma Panhandle State), Richard McGeorge (Elon) and Rex Mirich (Northern Arizona), as well as former coaches Gene Carpenter and Ron Harms.

The NFF launched its Divisional Hall of Fame program in 1996 and since that time 137 players and coaches have been inducted from the divisional ranks. Included among them are all-time greats Terry Bradshaw, Walter Payton, Jerry Rice and Eddie Robinson.

This year’s class will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame July 20-21 in South Bend, Ind.


Lori Tapahonso 5 years, 11 months ago

Oh my goodness...a positive Haskell article. Thanks, LJW.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.