Kansas law enforcement officers are buckling down on buckling up now through the Memorial Day weekend as part of the “Click it. Or ticket.” program.
“If a person is not wearing a seat belt, the chance of injury or likelihood of injury is much greater,” Lt. Gary Bunting of the Douglas County Sheriff’s Office said.
Seat belts help prevent injuries by restraining the passenger and keeping him or her from being thrown out of the vehicle.
“Unless the objects in the vehicle are restrained, they are going to continue moving even if the vehicle stops,” Bunting said.
Kansas law allows vehicles to be stopped solely because an occupant is not properly wearing his or her seat belt, and Highway Patrol troopers, sheriff’s deputies and police officers statewide will be working to specifically enforce wearing a seat belt.
Because Kansas’ statistic for deaths of unrestrained passenger vehicle occupants at night, 76 percent, exceeds the national rate of 61 percent, officers are targeting night riders for seat-belt violations.
Kansas is one of 32 states where a car can be pulled over solely because of a seat-belt violation. The fine for not wearing a seat belt is $10.