Archive for Monday, May 21, 2012

Around and About for May 19, 2012

May 21, 2012


Friends of Fay Jost, who will turn 104 on May 27, are organizing a card shower. Birthday cards may be sent to Jost at 1101 Vt., Lawrence KS 66044.

Isaac Mills, of Bonner Springs, a junior at Fort Hays State University, was elected a senator from the College of Business and Leadership for the 2012-2013 academic year.

Washburn University’s commencement ceremonies were May 12. Graduation candidates include December 2011 School of Law, spring 2012 and summer 2012 graduates. Graduates from this area are listed below.

From Baldwin City: Samantha Attkisson, Master of Social Work; Angela Ko, Bachelor of Business Administration, Management and Marketing.

From Basehor: John Jones, Juris Doctor, Law; Jason Pollock, Juris Doctor, Law.

From Eudora: Christopher Bryant, Bachelor of Applied Science, Human Services.

From Lawrence: Laura Allison, Juris Doctor, Law; Mario Argueta, Associate of Science, Radiologic Technology; Courtney Boehm, Juris Doctor, Law; Ellen Cavender, Associate of Science, Radiologic Technology; Cade Chaput, Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice, Law Enforcement, Cum Laude; Melanie Cropp, Bachelor of Education, Elementary Education, Magna Cum Laude; Richard Davis, Juris Doctor, Law; Brianna Di Iorio, Associate of Science, Radiologic Technology; Jessica Dotter, Juris Doctor, Law; Dominic Eck, Juris Doctor, Law; Anthony Fast, Bachelor of Arts, Mass Media, Cum Laude; Alyssa Finnestad, Bachelor of Science in Nursing; Erin Floyd, Bachelor of Science in Nursing, Magna Cum Laude; David Freeman, Bachelor of Arts, Mass Media; Tiffany Harris, Bachelor of Arts, Psychology; Tonya Hartman, Bachelor of Science in Nursing; Kahlyn Heine, Bachelor of Education, Elementary Education, Magna Cum Laude; Julie Heschmeyer, Juris Doctor, Law; Sheena Hess, Master of Science in Nursing; Grace Hildenbrand, Bachelor of Arts, Communication, Summa Cum Laude and University Honors; Taylor Hoag, Bachelor of Arts, Physical Education; Derek Huff, Bachelor of Arts, Mass Media; Andrew Hulse, Bachelor of Arts, Biology, Cum Laude; Colton Johnson, Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice, Law Enforcement; Kyle Jones, Bachelor of Arts, Mass Media; Rozilind Kort, Bachelor of Social Work; Clayton Kucza, Bachelor of Applied Science, Human Services; Andrea Latham-Ingham, Bachelor of Applied Science, Human Services, Magna Cum Laude; Danielle Lavely, Juris Doctor, Law; Sheena LeMay-Nelssen, Bachelor of Arts, Mass Media; Ryan Loehr, Juris Doctor, Law; Emily McCarthy, Bachelor of Science in Nursing; Mindy Mihalchik, Bachelor of Social Work; Jessica Nelson, Master of Social Work; Rudolph Neugebauer, Bachelor of Legal Studies; Stacey Peterson, Bachelor of Science in Nursing, Cum Laude, School of Nursing Scholar; Caitlin Rodenbeek, Bachelor of Arts, French; Andrew Shank, Associate of Science, Radiologic Technology; William Skepnek, Juris Doctor, Law; Jennifer Thomas, Juris Doctor, Law; Cameron Turpin, Juris Doctor, Law; Erin Ward, Master of Social Work; Laura Windheuser, Juris Doctor, Law; Summer Workman, Bachelor of Arts, English; Maryam Zangeneh, Bachelor of Fine Arts.

From Lecompton: Heather Ledom, Bachelor of Arts, Psychology; Crystal Leming, Master of Arts, Psychology.

From Oskaloosa: Emily Heston, Bachelor of Science in Nursing, Cum Laude.

From Overbrook: Ronda Ellis, Bachelor of Social Work, Cum Laude; Jenna Fawl, Associate of Science, Physical Therapist Assistant.

From Perry: Isaac Fisher, Bachelor of Arts, Spanish, Summa Cum Laude; Paul Foltz, Master of Business Administration and Juris Doctor, Law; Theresa Jernberg, Bachelor of Social Work.

From Tonganoxie: Sarah Boston, Bachelor of Legal Studies, Magna Cum Laude, School of Applied Studies Honors.

Air Force Airman Wesley J. Boaz, a 2010 graduate of Perry-Lecompton High School, graduated from basic military training at Lackland Air Force Base in San Antonio. He completed an intensive, eight-week program that included training in military discipline and studies, Air Force core values, physical fitness, and basic warfare principles and skills.

Carol Folks, of Lawrence, was inducted into the Sigma Lambda Criminal Justice Honor Society at Washburn University on May 9. She is a senior majoring in criminal justice and legal studies and is an intern at the Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office in Oskaloosa.

Jennifer and Robert Simmons, of Owasso, Okla., announce the birth of their son, Harrison Nathaniel Simmons, on May 3, 2012, in Tulsa, Okla. Siblings include Katherine, 3, and Hannah, 1. Maternal grandparents are Suzanne and Terry McGinn, of Lawrence. Paternal grandparents are Betsy and Loren Simmons, of Tulsa. Great-grandparents are Willard and Estella McGinn, of Tecumseh, and Donald and Adrianne Badgley, of Muncie, Ind.

Liam Hoey-Kummerow, fifth-grader at Cordley School, won six out of seven matches and claimed the fifth-place trophy in the K-6 Unrated section at the U.S. Chess Federation National Elementary Chess Championships in Nashville, Tenn.

Northwest Missouri State University in Maryville, Mo., has announced the names of students on the Academic or President’s Honor Roll at the end of the 2012 spring trimester. To be included on the Academic Honor Roll, a student must carry a minimum of 12 credit hours and attain a GPA of 3.5 or above. Students named to the President’s Honor Roll have attained a perfect 4.00 GPA for the trimester.

From Basehor: Academic, Emily Lynch.

From Bonner Springs: Academic, Megan O’Bryan; President’s, Jessica Vervaecke; Academic, Dalton Vitt; President’s, Christina Ward.

From Eudora: Academic, Cody Carlson.

From Lawrence: Academic, Maggie Reynolds.

From Perry: Academic, Joel Gantz.

Area students attending Washburn Institute of Technology won awards at the Kansas SkillsUSA competition recently in Wichita. Caleb Riley, of Meriden, won second place in the mechatronics contest. He is a member of the advanced systems program at Washburn Tech. Olivia Schwyhart, a student at Perry-Lecompton High School who is studying graphics technology at Washburn Tech, won the top award in the 2012 state pin design contest, second place in the employability skills competition and third place in advertising design. Schwyhart is a resident of Lawrence. Chance Thompson, of Meriden, who is in the machine tool program at Washburn Tech, won first place in the open job skills demonstration. He is now qualified to compete in the National Skills USA Leadership and Skills Conference in Kansas City in June.

Laura Kingston, of Lawrence, has been named to the Spring 2012 Champlain College’s Dean’s List in Burlington, Vt., for achieving a semester GPA of 3.5 or higher. Kingston, who majored in mass communication, earned a Bachelor of Science degree.

Logan Hartpence, of Eudora, was recognized by the College of Human Ecology at Kansas State University with the Outstanding Senior honor. Hartpence is a May 2012 graduate who studied communication sciences and disorders.

Kimberly Guppy, of Lawrence, has earned a Bachelor of Arts degree from the College of Letters and Science at the University of Wisconsin in Milwaukee.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.