Archive for Monday, February 27, 2012

Around and About for Feb. 25, 2012

February 27, 2012


Madison Frehe, of De Soto, has been named to the Dean’s List at Central College in Pella, Iowa. The honor is awarded to full-time students who achieve a 3.5 GPA or higher while taking 12 or more graded credit hours.

Richard Wiebe, of Lawrence, Kan., received the Dean’s Scholarship for $3,000 at Hesston College in Hesston. Recipients of the Dean’s Scholarship must maintain a 3.0 GPA. The amount listed reflects the value of the scholarship over two years of study.

Sadie and Michael Stanclift, of Shawnee, announce the birth of their son, Pearson Daniel Stanclift, born on Jan. 19, 2012, at Overland Park Regional Medical Center. Maternal grandparents are Daniel and Anna Callan, of Lawrence. Paternal grandparents are Mike and Jean Stanclift, of Lawrence. Great-grandparents are Neil and Betty McNeill, Overland Park.

John McDermott, of Lawrence, was named to the fall 2011 Dean’s List at Illinois College in Jacksonville, Ill. To qualify, students must complete at least 14 semester hours and have a GPA of 3.5 or higher.

Graduate students and professors from Kansas University spent 11 days in December 2011 in the Yucatan Peninsula, Mexico, where they investigated the impact of climate change on the planet’s biology, ecology and social systems.

Student participants were Lindsey Witthaus, of Lawrence, and Ashley Zung, of Lawrence.

The following area students completed requirements for associate and bachelor’s degrees in the fall 2011 semester at Fort Hays State University in Hays:

From Bonner Springs: Austin Mindedahl, B.S. in organizational leadership.

From De Soto: William Woods, B.B.A. in management.

From Lawrence : Tyler Gill, B.S. in elementary education; Chad Lafever, Bachelor of General Studies; Troy Muxlow, Bachelor of General Studies; Kyle Numbers, Bachelor of General Studies; Jeffrey Simons, Bachelor of General Studies; Jacob Staab, Associate of General Studies;

Lori Strecker, B.S. in Nursing.

From Ottawa: Lance Fuller, B.S. in health and human performance.

From Tonganoxie: Patrick Holton, B.S. in technology studies.

Emily McFarland, of Winchester, is spending the academic term on the Gordon Semester program in Italy. McFarland is a senior majoring in psychology and art with an emphasis in fine arts studio at Dordt College in Sioux Center, Iowa.

Area students are among the 150 Fort Hays State University students who completed requirements for master’s and education specialist degrees in fall 2011.

From Eudora: Beth Zimmerman, an M.S. in instructional technology.

From Lawrence: Christopher Harris, an M.B.A. in business administration (human resources); and Denise Siemens, an M.S. in special education.

From Lecompton: Jamie Amerine, an M.S. in health and human performance.

Taylor Baloga, of Lawrence, was named to the fall 2011 Dean’s List at Luther College in Decorah, Iowa. To qualify, a student must earn a GPA of 3.5 or better and must complete at least 12 credit hours.

Brooke Thurman, of Lawrence, a Creighton University business administration senior, received the Rev. Tom Schloemer, S.J., Outstanding Student Leader Award from Omicron Delta Kappa on Feb. 6. This award recognizes students who have displayed exceptional leadership abilities, integrity, initiative and service.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.