Archive for Saturday, February 18, 2012

Around and About for Feb. 18, 2012

February 18, 2012


Jordan Payne and Justine Ahle, both of Lawrence, have been named to the President’s List at Drake University. This academic honor was achieved by earning a GPA of 4.0 during the fall 2011 semester. Connor Twombly, of Baldwin City, and Michael Santee, of Lawrence, were named to the Dean’s List at Drake, an honor achieved by earning a GPA of 3.5 or higher during the fall semester.

Bhavika Albee, of Lawrence, has graduated from Saint Joseph’s College of Maine with a Master’s of Health Services Administration.

Jason Charney, a student studying music composition and music theory at Kansas University, recently won the Allen Strange Award from the Society of Electro-acoustic Music in the United States (SEAMUS). Charney won the contest with his performance of “Compass” and was scheduled to perform his winning piece at the SEAMUS National Conference from Feb. 9 to Feb. 11 at Lawrence University in Appleton, Wis.

Jerrett Mendez, a Lawrence resident and a senior at Kickapoo Nation School, is among seniors from six area Kansas high schools who will be honored Feb. 29 by the Kansas University Alumni Association and KU Endowment as a Kansas Honors Scholar.

Hutchinson Community College has announced honors for the fall 2011 semester, including grades through the end of the interterm session. The President’s Honor Roll includes students with a 4.0 GPA for the semester.

From Basehor: Lori Goodfellow.

From Lawrence: Bernard Ndungu.

State-winning Make It With Wool contestants competed in the national finals and awards program in a “Forward with Fashion” style show during the American Sheep Industry Association/National Lamb Feeders Association Annual Convention on Jan. 28. Among those taking top honors was Ryal Mitchell, of Lawrence. Mitchell won the title of First Place Junior 2012 Wool Ambassador. She chose to make an equestrian-inspired suit from five different wools. In addition to other prizes, Mitchell’s winnings included a $1,000 scholarship from Pendleton Woolen Mills and a $500 scholarship from ASI Women.

Army National Guard Pvt. Zachary D. McAdams, a 2008 graduate of Eudora High School, has graduated from basic infantry training at Fort Benning, Columbus, Ga. During the nine weeks of training, he received instruction in drill and ceremonies, weapons, map reading, tactics, military courtesy, military justice, physical fitness, first aid, and Army history, core values and traditions. Additional training included development of basic combat skills and battlefield operations and tactics, and experiencing use of various weapons and weapons defenses available to the infantry crewman.

West Middle School won the first-place trophy in K-8 at the Lawrence High School Chess Tournament Feb. 11 at LHS, while Quail Run’s Ryan Duan and Cordley’s Guthrie Bricker won individual championships in K-5 and K-3, respectively. Second-place team trophies went to Lawrence High School (K-12), Southwest Middle School (K-8), Cordley (K-5) and Sunset Hills (K-3), while third-place trophies went to Free State High School (K-12), Langston Hughes (K-5) and Cordley (K-3).

Lawrence-area medal winners in K-12 were Kaustubh Nimkar, LHS, second; Kiana Hajiarbabi, Southwest, third; Robert Newman, LHS, fourth; Aaron Simon, FSHS, eighth; Sam Beaulieu, FSHS, 10th; Eddie Wilson, LHS, 12th; Thomas Peterson, LHS, 17th; and Joseph Miller, FSHS, 20th.

In K-8: Shahrzad Hajiarbabi, Southwest, third; Bennet Haase-Divine, West, fifth; Alex Trujillo, West, seventh; Jackson Maher, Central, eighth; Jeffrey Wilson, Southwest, 11th; Camaron Edgecomb, West, 12th; Diane Camarda, West, 13th; Dylan Snyder, Southwest, 14th; Maxwell Briggs, South, 17th; Christina Im, Bishop Seabury, 18th; and Dusty Morris, Southwest.

In K-5: Shrivatsa Malladi, Langston Hughes, second; Liam Hoey-Kummerow, Cordley, sixth; William Schellman, Prairie Park, ninth; Andrew Wettengel, Cordley, 11th; Rajin Nagpal, Sunflower, 12th; Lincoln Edgecomb, Sunset Hills, 14th; Tyson Dent, Langston Hughes, 15th; Ben Hoopes, Cordley, 16th; Sebi Brown, Cordley, 17th; and Ethan Carroll, Langston Hughes, 19th.

In K-3: Caleb Prescott, Sunset Hills, second; Anna Jian, Sunflower, seventh; Rita Joseph, Sunset Hills, eighth; Bryce Erickson, Raintree, ninth; Krishi Sabarwal, Quail Run, 11th; Annelise Hoopes, Cordley, 12th; Giovanni Ventello, Cordley, 15th; Oliver Rubenstein, Raintree, 17th; Jocelyn Wilson, Sunflower, 18th; and Logan Camarda, Sunset Hills, 20th.

James Gere, of Baldwin City, has been named to the fall 2011 Honor Roll at Fort Scott Community College. To qualify, a student must have a GPA of at least 3.0.

The University of Missouri-Kansas City has announced its Dean’s List for the fall 2011 semester. These students, full-time undergraduates who ranked in the upper 10 percent of their class for that term, completed a minimum of 12 graded hours to qualify.

From Baldwin City: Amy Denise Stuart.

From Eudora: Catherine Anne Klotz.

From Lawrence: Michael Joseph Bewley.

Washington University in St. Louis has announced its Dean’s List for the fall 2011 semester. To qualify, students must earn a semester GPA of 3.5 or above and be enrolled in at least 14 graded units.

From Lawrence: Carina Hilary Fowler, Joseph Hogan Randall and Betty Zhang.

Brooke Sutherland, of Lawrence, a member of the class of 2012 at Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Va., has earned honor roll status for the 2011 fall term. Honor roll status represents a term GPA of at least 3.75.

— Please send Around and About items to


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.