Archive for Monday, April 9, 2012

Around and About for April 7, 2012

April 9, 2012


Brock Norwood, of Lawrence, was named to the fall 2011 Dean’s List at Winona State University in Winona, Minn. To qualify, a student must earn a GPA of 3.5 or higher.

Two Washburn University students from Lawrence were recently inducted into Lambda Nu, the national honor society for radiologic and imaging sciences. Jenna Shae Fugate, a junior, and Ashley Huerter, a post-baccalaureate student, are both pursuing associate’s degrees in radiologic technology.

Washburn University student Amy Day, of Lawrence, is the recipient of the Ralph and Jeanette Young English Scholarship. Day is a member of Phi Kappa Phi and Sigma Tau Delta honor societies. She is a senior majoring in English, with a concentration in literature.

Kansas University organ students Yoomi Chang and Sheung Chi Chan captured the first and second prizes, respectively, in the national organ playing competition sponsored by the First Presbyterian Church of Fort Wayne, Ind.

Chang studies with professor James Higdon. As the first-place winner, Chang will be featured in a public concert April 29 at First Presbyterian Church, Fort Wayne.

Chan studies with professor Michael Bauer.

Rodi M. Torres-Gavosto, of Lawrence, a Kansas University junior majoring in chemistry, has been chosen to receive the prestigious Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship. The goal of the scholarship is to provide a continuing source of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians and engineers.

Southwestern College student and cross country runner Trey Bruton, of Meriden, has been named a Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Scholar Athlete. Student-athletes must have sophomore standing at the start of the season, maintain a minimum GPA of 3.33 and letter in their sport.

Thirty-three Kansas University students were honored during the annual Women’s Recognition Ceremony April 3 at the Kansas Union. These awards were established to honor KU female students, staff, faculty and alumnae who have enriched and improved the campus and community through their service, teaching or involvement. Student award winners from this area:

Emily Lamb, of Lawrence. Lamb is a graduate of Lawrence High School. She is a senior studying social welfare and received Outstanding Woman Student in Leadership.

Julia Barnard, of Lawrence. Barnard is a graduate of Lawrence High School. She is a senior studying history and received Outstanding Woman Student in Partnership.

Stephanie Jian, of Lawrence. Jian is a graduate of Lawrence High School. She is a senior studying chemical engineering and received Outstanding Woman Student in Partnership.

Karen Lewis, of Lawrence. Lewis is a graduate of Calumet High School. She is a junior studying environmental studies and received Outstanding NonTraditional Woman Student.

Annie McBride, of Lawrence. McBride is a graduate of Northwest High School. She is a graduate studying higher education and received Roney Student Success Mentor Award.

The program is sponsored by the Emily Taylor Women’s Resource Center, the Commission on the Status of Women and the Office of Diversity and Equity.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.