Archive for Tuesday, April 3, 2012

Six women inducted into KU Women’s Hall of Fame

April 3, 2012


A Kansas Supreme Court judge, two business leaders and other Kansas University staff members are among six new members selected for Kansas University’s Women’s Hall of Fame.

KU has inducted outstanding women in the KU community into its Women’s Hall of Fame since 1970.

The new members are:

• Carol A. Beier, a member of the Kansas Supreme Court appointed by then-Gov. Bill Graves in February 2000. She graduated from KU with a bachelor’s degree in journalism in 1981 and from the KU School of Law in 1985.

• Mary Burg, who has served as executive assistant to the chancellor for more than 15 years.

• Cynthia Carroll, CEO of Anglo American PLC, a global mining group headquartered in London. She has been named the fourth-most-powerful woman in the world by Forbes, and obtained a master’s degree in geology from KU in 1982.

• Lorraine Haricombe, the dean of libraries at KU, who has served in that role since 2006 after working in a similar role at Bowling Green State University in Ohio.

• Debra Kamps, a senior scientist for the Juniper Gardens Children’s Project at KU who conducts research to benefit children with behavioral, emotional and developmental disabilities. She earned a master’s degree from KU in 1975 and a doctorate in 1983, both in special education.

• Linda Weir-Enegren, president of LS Industries and founder of Rainbows United. She earned a bachelor’s degree in speech communication and human relations in 1977 from KU. She founded Rainbows United, a preschool for children who are disabled, in 1972, and founded LS Industries, a manufacturer of blasting and degreasing equipment, with her husband, Phil Enegren.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.