Archive for Saturday, September 17, 2011

Around and About for September 17, 2011

September 17, 2011


The Flory Family reunion will be at 12:30 p.m. Sunday at Lone Star Church of the Brethren, 883 E. 800 Road, Lawrence. Please bring table service. Drinks will be provided.

Monica and Bret Dittmer, Lawrence, announce the birth of their son, London Randall Dittmer, on Sept. 3, 2011, at Lawrence Memorial Hospital.

London has two brothers, Cayden, 4; and Orion, 2.

His maternal grandparents are Linda Randall, Lawrence, and William Randall, Spring Hill; his paternal grandparents are Mark and Lana Dittmer, Spring Hill.

His great-grandparents are Normal and Alice Youngman, Jamesport, Mo., and Hilda Dittmer, Melcher-Dallas, Iowa.

Cyril Cook, Lawrence, was awarded a bachelor’s degree in liberal arts May 21 from St. John’s College in Santa Fe, N.M.

The Pebble Beach Concours d’Elegance announces Casey Maxon of Lawrence was named one of three recipients of the Phil Hill Scholarships, which were established to honor the memory of America’s first Formula One driving champion and a longtime Concours participant. Officially known as the Pebble Beach Company Foundation Phil Hill Scholarships, the grants are intended to encourage the ongoing preservation and restoration of historic automobiles. Maxon is a student in the automotive restoration program at McPherson College.

Fifth-year students at the Kansas University School of Pharmacy made the transition from student to pharmacist on April 26, when they officially donned their white coats. After the ceremony, each student received a Caduceus pin, a traditional symbol of the medical community. Lawrence students were Erick Axcell, Brittany Harman, Michael Hrenchir, Dana Sanders and Quynh Tran. 

McPherson College recognized the outstanding students of the 2010-2011 academic year at its annual Celebration and Awards Convocation on May 6. Following a highlight video of the last year, faculty and staff presented the awards and recognitions, including Tori Carder of Eudora, who earned a service learning award for her volunteer hours.

Forty-one students were inducted as members of the Ichabod Chapter of the National Senior Honor Society of Mortar Board at Washburn University. Mortar Board Inc. is a national honor society that recognizes college seniors for distinguished ability and achievement in scholarship, leadership and service. Area initiates are: Brett Johnson, Bonner Springs; and Kahlyn Heine and Daphne Phillips, Lawrence. Phillips is also the director of communications officer of the 2011-12 Ichabod Chapter.

Justin Trout, Lawrence, was named to the spring 2011 dean’s list at Chadron State College in Chadron, Neb., by earning a grade-point average of at least 3.5.

Six Lawrence students are recipients of scholarships awarded by the Washburn University School of Business. Christian Beer received the Luranna Russell Clothier School of Business Memorial Scholarship and the Dale C. Marcoux Scholarship. He was recently inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma international honor society. Jorge Delgado Breuer was awarded the Max L. Campbell Family Memorial Scholarship and the Isaac J. Vernon Scholarship. He is a member of Beta Alpha Phi honor society. Jordan Plaice received the General School of Business Scholarship.

Jeongah Lee Park received the William J. McNeive and Robert J. Bernica Scholarship. Alicia Potter was awarded the Ester Hancuff Business Scholarship. Jessica Stogsdill is the recipient of the Payless ShoeSource/May Department Stores Company Business Scholarship and the Berberich Trahan & Co. P.A. Scholarship.

Daniel Finley, Winchester, graduated May 6 from Dordt College in Sioux Center, Iowa. Finley earned a bachelor’s degree in business administration with an emphasis in marketing.

Lucy Daldorph, a student at Kansas University and a Lawrence High School graduate, was one of 16 college students awarded a Hy-Vee Foundation Inc. college scholarship. Each year the Hy-Vee Foundation awards a total of $80,000 in scholarships to graduating high school seniors and current college students who have worked at Hy-Vee or have parents working for Hy-Vee. Her scholarship was worth $1,000.

Members of the Ikenberry Family met for the 81st annual reunion Aug. 21 at the Ives Chapel United Methodist Church in Baldwin City. Plans were made for the 82nd reunion on Aug. 19, 2012.

Those attending from Lawrence: Roger and Jill Powell; Ken and Charlotte Ikenberry; Janet Ikenberry; Lisa Bishop and son Cash; Diane Coester; Helen Torkelson; Julie Powell and children Taylor, Megan and Nicole Donner; Kevin and Angie Powell; Dorothy Powell; and Karen Boyle.

Those attending from other area cities: Mark and Mary Gastelum; Lindsay Gastelum and daughter Lucy; Scott and Kim Ikenberry with Heather, Ashley and Jenelle; Clifford and Dora Ann Ikenberry; Tony and Shopna Ikenberry with Noah, all of Baldwin City; Richard Dillon and Virginia Gilroy, Ottawa; and Brian Powell and son Brian, Jr., Tonganoxie.

Seven students from Douglas County were among the 44 Washburn University students recently inducted into the Phi Kappa Phi national honor society. Persons elected included juniors in the top 7.5 percent of their class and seniors in the top 10 percent of their class, along with outstanding graduate students, faculty, professional staff and alumni.

Inductees are: Amy Day, Grace Hildenbrand, Anna Marshall, Andrew Petz and Justin Spiehs, all of Lawrence; Tracy Hill, Lecompton; and Roxy Johanning, Berryton.

Day, recipient of an English department scholarship, is a member of Sigma Tau Delta national honor society. Hildenbrand is a member of Alpha Lambda Delta National Honor Society. Tracy Hill is a member of Sigma Theta Tau International honor society.

Lawrence Accredited Music Teachers Association will host its first fall recital at 7 p.m. and 8 p.m. on Thursday at the First Presbyterian Church. Performing students are: Sisi Srisutiva, Lawrence Chen, Julia Silverstein, Omar Roth, Benedict Ali, Quincy Beeler, Luther Fuller, Mariam Ali, Bill Quan, Maria Matamoros, Stephen Huan, Nina Katz, Dingding Ye, Jessica Chen, Ben Katz, Sydney Combs, Yihan Li, Camilla Lynch, Fedor Sharov, Mason Kelso, Kelsey Jian, Emma Liu, Malka Hampton, Jamie Ward, Rebecca Feng, and Ingrid Bruss. The students are from the studios of Carol Cook, Jean Drumm, Julie Holmberg, Scott McBride Smith and Jung Spooner.

Stephanie Nystrom, Lawrence, was named to the spring 2011 dean’s list at LeTourneau University in Longview, Texas. Nystrom achieved a grade-point average between 3.5 and 3.99.

Todd Bennick, motorcycle stuntman, will perform Sunday at Heritage Baptist Church, 1781 E. 800 Road, Lawrence, following the morning service at approximately 11:30 a.m.

New Life In Christ Church, 619 Vt., will celebrate its 20th anniversary Sunday at the 10 a.m. service with a pizza dinner to follow.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.