Archive for Sunday, September 11, 2011

Kansas volleyball sweeps in Iowa

September 11, 2011


— Kansas University’s volleyball team made Minnesota its highest-ranked victim in program history in the morning, then beat Saint Louis in the evening to complete a sweep on the final day Saturday at the Clarion Inn-vitational.

Kansas (8-1) went 2-1 at the tournament.

“There was some progress over the weekend,” Kansas coach Ray Bechard said. “We’ll see if we can build on that next weekend when we face another tough situation at DePaul. This was a good barometer for our program against two top-15 teams and a good St. Louis team.”

KU beat the sixth-ranked Gophers, 27-25, 25-20, 17-25, 20-25, 15-12.

The Jayhawks received double-digit kill efforts from senior outside hitter Allison Mayfield, third-year sophomore middle blocker Caroline Jarmoc and freshman outside hitter Sara McClinton.

Mayfield led the Jayhawks with 19 kills, while Jarmoc and McClinton recorded new career-highs with 14 and 12, respectively.

Kansas recorded 18 total blocks as a team, led by career-best performances from junior middle blocker Tayler Tolefree (9), freshman outside hitter Chelsea Albers (8) and Jarmoc, whose nine tied her personal best. Tolefree also chipped in eight kills without a single attack error.

Minnesota middle blocker Tori Dixon and outside hitter Ashley Wittman powered the Golden Gophers with a combined 48 kills and just nine errors between them.

Jarmoc and McClinton each posted 12-kill efforts to pace the offense in a 26-24, 25-10, 27-25 victory over Saint Louis. Senior outside hitter Allison Mayfield added nine, and Jarmoc attacked for an impressive .409 percentage.

Sophomore libero Brianne Riley put forth another solid effort, with 14 digs to add to sophomore setter Kara Wehrs’ 15. Tolefree, Albers and Jarmoc each totaled three kills apiece in the finale.

Both Jarmoc and Tolefree rejected 14 attacks over the weekend as Kansas tallied 28 total blocks as a team.

Kansas will travel to Chicago next weekend. KU will face San Diego State, Valparaiso and DePaul at the DePaul Invitational.


Commenting has been disabled for this item.