Archive for Saturday, October 15, 2011

Scouting news for October 15, 2011

October 15, 2011


Lawrence Boy Scout Troop 52, chartered by the Lawrence First United Methodist Church, held its Court of Honor on Sept. 27. The ceremony was opened with the Pledge of Allegiance led by senior patrol leader Thomas Peterson, and color guards Andrew Bireta and Jamie Messer. Presentation of ranks and awards were done by committee chairman Kent Peterson, Scoutmaster Jace Newman and senior patrol leader Thomas Peterson. Camping beads were awarded by assistant Scoutmaster Marlon Schneck.

Earning ranks, merit badges and special awards were: John Anderson: second class, first class, citizenship in the nation, fish and wildlife, motorboating, photography, pioneering and BSA snorkeling; Alex Arriaga: first class and photography; Andrew Bireta: second class, first class, motorboating, photography and pioneering; Maxwell Briggs: citizenship in the nation, citizenship in the world, first aid, fish and wildlife, forestry, motorboating and photography; Joseph Cary: first class, auto maintenance, emergency preparedness, environmental science, forestry and motorboating; Lawrence Chen: star, backpacking, camping, cooking, first aid, motorboating, photography and swimming; Ryan Glogau: star, basketry, canoeing, citizenship in the nation, citizenship in the world, environmental science and lifesaving; Jacob Lashley: tenderfoot, art, first aid, motorboating, photography, weather and totin’ chip; John McArthur: archery, camping, fish and wildlife, motorboating, photography and rifle shooting; James Messer: citizenship in the nation, first aid, motorboating, photography and recruiter; John Milburn: tenderfoot, second class, art, first aid, fishing, motorboating, photography, reptile/amphibian study, weather and totin’ chip; Finn Nesbitt-Daly: rifle shooting; Robert Newman-citizenship in the world, environmental science, fish and wildlife, geology, motorboating, photography and world conservation; Robert Parker: Scout and totin’ chip; John Peterson: star, camping, emergency preparedness, environmental science, leatherwork, motorboating, photography and weather; Thomas Peterson: mammal study, motorboating, personal fitness and photography; Eli Schneck: archery, citizenship in the community, fish and wildlife, rifle shooting and world conservation; Mark Smith: motorboating and pioneering; and Gavin Spence: family life and reptile/amphibian study.

Order of the Arrow Ordeal membership was granted to Ryan Glogau, Robert Newman and Cyndy Glogau. Order of the Arrow Brotherhood membership was granted to Thomas Peterson, Gavin Spence, Kent Peterson and Bryan Spence. C.I.T. training at Camp Naish was completed this past summer by Robert Newman and Eli Schneck; and Thomas Peterson and Gavin Spence both worked at Camp Naish this past summer as full-time staff members. Following the closing ceremony refreshments were served.

Pack 3064, sponsored by the Eudora United Methodist Church, met Sept. 28 at the West Building in Eudora. Cubmaster Aaron Lathrom presented the recruiter patch to Steven Young for bringing a new Scout to the pack. Dens are working on awards for the October meeting. New Webelos leader Matt Jones will have den meetings on Thursday nights, and so will the Bear den which is led by Jerry Criqui and Jim Lord. A new Tiger Cub den is being formed and leader Kenan Staples reports more first grade boys are needed. The Wolf den will be meeting on Monday nights with leaders Christen Coble and Amy Isenburg. New Scouts are welcome. Interested parents may call John Scott at (785) 542-3510.

Eudora Boy Scout Troop 64 provided the opening flag ceremony at the Oct. 1 Eudorafest, and then worked with the Lions Club to provide fun for the children who attended the festival. The Scouts provided several test-of-skill games and a fun fishing event. In the fishing event, the children were given a chance to fish and catch a prize. Another game featured bowling while using a softball supported by a rope attached to the top of the event structure. If a spare was bowled, the bowler won a bag of chips or a candy bar; for a strike, they won either a bag of chips, a candy bar, or a bottle of pop. Assisting Scouts were Nathan Bradley, Connor Bradley, Steven Wimmer, Patrick Bradley, Dylan Hopson, Dakota Coble, Hunter Darling and Alex Whitten. Assisting adults were Glenn Jackson, Damon Bradley, John Scott, Roy Wimmer, Rodney Coble and Jim Guy. Scouts providing the opening flag ceremony were senior patrol leader Nathan Bradley, Connor Bradley and Patrick Bradley.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.