Archive for Tuesday, May 10, 2011

KU rowers honored

May 10, 2011


Kansas rowing honored 13 seniors and handed out multiple individual awards at its end-of-the-year team banquet Friday night.

KU honored its graduating seniors: Allison Able, Kristen Allison, Karlie Brown, Melissa Hersh, Elise Langtry, Meaghan Oven, Rachelle Pauly, Lauren Pollmiller, Caitlin Roach, Kellie Roy, Jessica Sadler, Nicole Schneider and Cassie Sparks. Brown, Pauly, Pollmiller, Schneider and Sparks also received the senior academic award. Additionally, Schneider won the “Class of 2000” Team Academic Award.

Senior Meaghan Oven was awarded the Oarswoman of the Year Award, while senior Elise Langtry won the Nikia Rosenberger Outstanding Coxswain Award for the second straight year. Junior Angela Mings was named the Most Improved Oarswoman of the Year.

Freshman Katie Hayes earned the Outstanding Newcomer Award, while freshman Allie McLane was the team’s Most Improved Newcomer.

The Jayhawks will compete in the Conference USA Championship Saturday in Oak Ridge, Tenn.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.