Around and About for March 19, 2011

Hannah Robinson, daughter of Rita Beyer and Steve Robinson, both of Lawrence, received the dean’s award for academic excellence during the fall 2010 semester at Colgate University in Hamilton, N.Y., by achieving a grade-point average of 3.3 or higher.

Ireland Ziegler, 12, a student at West Junior High School, participated in a leadership development program held March 10-13 in Wichita. Themed “Courageous Leadership,” the National Young Leaders State Conference helps young scholars take an introspective and highly personalized assessment of their leadership skills and abilities. Throughout the four-day program, scholars built a working “toolkit” of strategies to help them successfully dream, create and implement plans that will change how they view their roles as leaders in their community.

Eli Hodge, son of David and Penny Hodge of Lawrence, has been awarded the Paul A. and Mary C. Oberholtzer Scholarship at Pittsburg State University for the 2010-11 academic semester.

Creighton University, Omaha, Neb., announces area students named to the dean’s list for the fall 2010 semester by earning a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher.

Area students are: Austin Hunter, Basehor; Grant Klise, Berryton; Brandon Leppke, Bonner Springs; and Sonya Bhakta, Jennifer Crawford, Rebecca Haworth, and Katherine Johnson, Lawrence.

Emily Johnson, Lawrence, and Kaylee Carter, Ottawa, were named to the fall 2010 dean’s list at Barton Community College by earning a minimum grade-point average between 3.5 to 3.99.

Ella Altenbernd, Lawrence, was named to “Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges.” Altenbernd is a senior psychology and history major at William Jewell College in Liberty, Mo.

The following students graduated Dec. 19 with a bachelor’s degree in nursing from Baker University.

They are: Katelin Burgen, Berryton; and Kimberly Begert, Rebecca Blevins, Kendra Fritschen, Natalie Gepford, Brooke Raasch, Morgan Rinck, Jessica Salah, Jessica Shippee, Lauren Spain and Josie Witten, all of Lawrence.

Weston Wiebe and Wren Wiebe, the son and daughter of Wade and Jan Wiebe of Lawrence, were named to the fall 2010 dean’s list at the College of the Ozarks in Point Lookout, Mo., by earning a 3.6 minimum grade-point average.

Nicholas Irick, Linwood, was named to the fall 2010 honor roll by earning at least a 3.3 grade-point average at the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh.