Archive for Saturday, March 5, 2011

Club news for March 5, 2011

March 5, 2011


University Bridge Club announces results of its Feb. 26 meeting with hosts Sadie Deaton, Dottie Miller and Paul Jordan. Cora Kuepker won a door prize.

Blue winners: Tom Waller, first; John Stark, second; Alice Akin, third; Bebe Huxtable, fourth; and Al Smith, fifth.

Pink winners: Cathy Waller, first; Carol Smith, second; Debbie Nunemaker, third; Janet Dunn, fourth; and Edna Galle, fifth.

The Wednesday Afternoon Duplicate Bridge Club’s game on Feb. 23 was directed by Virginia Seaver. North-South winners were Vince Nordberg and Steven Vossler, first in A; Rob Seaver and Virginia Seaver, second in A; Jerry Sloan and Larry Weatherholt, third in A; Chuck Hedges and Mona Bell, fourth in A and first in B; Lois Clark and Betty Collier, second in B; and Jan Vaughn and Arkie Vaughn, first in C.

East-West winners were Bobby Patton and Adelaide Nyquist, first in A, B and C; David Piro and Paul Heitzman, second in A; John Oxley and Elizabeth Jankord, third in A; Sally Taylor and Yvonne Hedges, fourth in A and second in B; and Clarice Broz and Virginia Johnston, second in C.

The Friday Afternoon Duplicate Bridge Club’s game on Feb. 25 was directed by Virginia Seaver. North-South winners were Steven Vossler and Larry Weatherholt, first in A; Catherine Blumenfeld and Lynn Hui, second in A, and first in B and C; and Dick Shaffer and Jack Flickinger, third in A and second in B.

East-West winners were Ed Howard and Mark Osborn, first in A; Paul Heitzman and Virginia Seaver, second in A; Jerry Sloan and Emily Foster, third in A; Lois Clark and Mona Bell, first in B; and Adelaide Nyquist and Bobby Patton, first in C.

The Monday Evening Duplicate Club’s game on Feb. 28 was played as a pro-am match up and was directed by Virginia Seaver. Winners were Jerry Sloan and Jan O’Connor, first; Virginia Seaver and Eleanor Patton, second; Jim Stewart and James Masilamani, third; Jolene Andersen and Vince Nordberg, fourth; and Emily Foster and Brian Barrett, fifth.

The Betty Washington Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution met Feb. 19 at the American Legion Post No. 14, 3408 W. Sixth St. After the DAR Ritual and flag salute, Melodee Wallace introduced guests. There were 12 members and five guests present. The president general’s message and National Defender were read. Officers and committee reports were given. Shari Johnson talked about the re-dedication of Real Daughter Lucy Estabrook. The re-dedication will be at 2 p.m. March 26 at Oak Hill Cemetery. A tea will follow at the American Legion. Diane Myer announced the winner for the America History Contest will be presented with an award and pin April 9 at Prairie Park School. Johnson also talked about the St. Patrick’s Day Parade. On March 16, members will gather at Johnson’s home to decorate the float. On March 17, members and their families will be invited to ride on the float in the parade. After the meeting, several members carpooled to attend the 25th annual George Washington Birthday Celebration in Overland Park, sponsored by the Kansas and Missouri chapters of Sons of the American Revolution. The next meeting will be at 10 a.m. March 19 at the American Legion. Mary Burchill will talk about “The Life of Our Real Daughter Lucy Estabrook.” For more information, contact Johnson at 843-6199 or Melodee Wallace at 887-6833.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.