Archive for Saturday, June 4, 2011

Around and About for June 4, 2011

June 4, 2011


Emporia State University announces the 2010-11 scholarship recipients with the allocation of awards at $2,025,625.

Area students earning scholarships include: Shannon Brock and Angela Lawless, Basehor; Ariel May, Catherine Smith, Trinity Standridge, Kelsey Tallman and Melissa Wheeler, Bonner Springs; Christopher Dvorak and Daniel Quillin, De Soto; Kendal Abel, Tyler Cleveland, Kathaleen Donner and Mallory Waln, Eudora; Jonathan Allen, Elizabeth Babalola, Hannah Bain, Hannah Carlson, Monica Claassen-Wilson, Christopher Fieger, Kathleen Finnegan, Kevin Flanders, Anthony Foust, Jaymie Hardtarfer, Charles Hoag, Olson Kilmer, Joseph Kornbrust, Caroline Markley, Stephen Mason, Emily McDonald, Kajsa Mullenix, Brian Murphy, Julianne Newberry, Haley Parker, Adam Petz, Natalie Rabiola, Emily Readinger, Craig Rosenstengle, Travis Sanders, Phyllis Schaeffer, Shae Stringer, Brianna VanSchoelandt, Mallory West and Whitney Wiebe, Lawrence; Sydney Stallbaumer, Linwood; Emma DePriest and Lezley Lawson, McLouth; Myla Heston and Alison Houk, Oskaloosa; Amber Anderson, Nicole Hopkins, Amy Luckenbill, Alyssa Miller, Emily Moore, Timothy Morrow, Susanne Stevenson, Sunney Tesch, Cari Vogeler-Michael, Brandi Wade and Kaci Watts, Ottawa; Wesley Henson and Sarah Hodges, Perry; Makenzie Armstrong, Kirsten Baggett, Chelsea Calovich, Brittany Harbour, Katelyn Kerbaugh, Raylynn Laster-White and Jessica Turner, Tonganoxie; Victoria Crocker and Ryan Hahn, Berryton; Kaitlyn Fangman, Grantville; Casey Bisnett, Shelby Bisnett, Whitney Czajkowski, Andrew Duncan, Karly Kennedy, Anthony Pence, Briar Ploude and Brandon Stitt, Meriden; Chase McIver, Overbrook; Kristine Becker, Kyle Farmer, Nancy Shepheard and Therese Voegeli, Tecumseh.

Grace Brahler, Lawrence, was named to the president’s list for the 2010 fall semester at Lenoir-Rhyne University in Hickory, N.C., by earning a grade-point average of 3.9 or better.

The Eudora High School Alumni Association’s banquet and annual meeting will be Sunday in the Eudora High School Commons area, 2203 Church St. Registration begins at 12:30 p.m., and the covered dish dinner will begin at 1 p.m., followed by the business meeting. The banquet is open to all graduates of EHS. Special recognition will be given to the class of 1961. Those planning to attend are asked to bring their own table service. Coffee and tea will be provided. For more information, call Donald Bagby at 542-2692 or Pam Schmeck at 542-3677.

The winners in the 4th Annual Douglas County Legal Essay Contest have been announced. Winners are: Joshua Myers, Veritas Christian School, first; Colin Thomas, Baldwin High School, second; and Ann Wallsmith, Baldwin High, third.

In addition to the winners receiving cash prizes, $1,500 for first place, $1,000 for second place, and $500 for third place, they were invited to the Law Day luncheon on May 2. As first place winner, Myers will have a copy of his essay kept in the Law Library, and his name and school will be inscribed on a plaque in the Law Library.

The topic for the 2011 contest was “Does the Second Amendment Allow Ownership of Assault Weapons?”

Elijah Penny, Lawrence, was selected to participate in the Kansas State University College of Engineering Science and Summer Institute, which was offered Monday through Friday.

The family of Robert E. and Narcissa Agee Courtney will gather on Sunday in McLouth. The Courtneys settled in the Springdale community before Kansas was a state. Family members are invited for a potluck dinner at 12:30 p.m. at the McLouth Community Building. The community center shares a building with the McLouth Public Library, 215 S Union St. For more information, call Teresa Harker Woodhead at (913) 796-6875. 

Tara and Shane Brouhard, Lawrence, announce the birth of their son, Shane Axton Brouhard, on May 25, 2011, in Overland Park.

His maternal grandparents are Leonard and Dalia Collins, and his paternal grandmother is Billie Brouhard, all of Lawrence.

His great-grandparents are Harold and Betty Cannon, Lawrence, and Leonard and Loretta Collins, and Janie Wade, all of Ada, Okla.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.