Archive for Saturday, July 2, 2011

Scouting news for July 2, 2011

July 2, 2011


Troop 53 held its June Court of Honor on June 20 at Christ Community Church. Assistant senior patrol leader Matthew Siler lead the proceedings. Several Scouts earned rank advancement.

Scout: Kyle Abrahamson, Stephen Cory, Calvin Dewitt, Stephen Johnson, Milo Schoenen, Evan Schoenen, Stephen Teska, Isaac Springe and Thomas White.

Second Class: Will Benkelman, Dylan Edwinson, John Eldridge, Dillon Rowland and Justin Siler.

First Class and awarded the Troop 53 First Class neckerchief: David Balmilero, Devin Van Schmus and Connor Wyle.

Life: Ross Chumbley, Alex Claybaugh, Matt Mitchell and Anthony Van Schmus.

Ryan Schulteis was awarded the Bronze Palm for his Eagle badge.

Merit badges awarded: Brett Carey — salesmanship, personal management and citizenship in the world; Ross Chumbley — citizenship in the world; Dylan Edwinson — first aid; John Eldridge — first aid; Andrei Elliott — citizenship in the world; Ethan Kallenberger — family life; Jonathan Lesslie — first aid; Matt Mitchell — family life; Brian Morris — personal management and personal fitness; Sean Morris — personal management; Cole Overton — first aid and family life; Dillon Rowland — first aid; Aidan Schaplowsky — citizenship in the world, citizenship in the nation, and family life; Trenton Shambaugh — citizenship in the community; Patrick Shields — personal management, personal fitness and camping; Anthony Van Schmus — citizenship in the nation; Devin Van Schmus — citizenship in the nation; and Connor Wyle — first aid.

New Order of the Arrow troop representative Anthony Van Schmus was introduced. New OA Ordeal members are Brett Carey, Spencer Conard, Zach Dixon, Andrei Elliot, Carson Gilliland, Nate Hoopes, Ethan Kallenberger, Matt Meseke, Gabe Mullen and leaders Mason Gilliland and Jim Kallenberger. New Brotherhood members are Adam Auer, Alex Claybaugh, Patrick Liston, Ryan Liston, Matt Mitchell, Cole Overton, Matthew Siler and Anthony Van Schmus.

Eudora Boy Scout Troop 64 and Cub Pack 3064 participated in the 2011 Pelathe District Cub Scout Day Camp held at the Douglas County Fairgrounds June 6-9. The Day Camp director this year was Alfred Cramer, Pack 3363, and the program director was Karen Lewis of Troop 64. The theme was Cub Quest and included learning about a different country each day. Daily activities included singing, learning about fishing, shooting BB guns and bows and arrows; working on Cub Scout belt loops, learning about nature, making crafts, playing games, and making and sampling a dessert from the highlighted country of the day. The staff was made up of several adults and Boy Scouts from several Scouting units in Douglas County. Troop 64’s contingent consisted of adults Glenn Jackson, Jim Morrison, Brian Rome, Amye Scott and Karen Lewis, along with Boy Scouts Dylan Hopson and Dakota Coble. Pack 3064 adults participating were Amy Isenburg, Christen Coble, Jerry Criqui, Dustin Young, Kelly Shoemaker, Jim Lord, Donna Labelle, Lynn Shoemaker and Mike Freisberg, along with Cub Scouts Ender Isenburg, Braden Hayes, Caleb Lord, Garrett Shoemaker, Steven Young, Nate Criqui, Logan Labelle, Brett Freisberg, Aaron McDonald and Benjamin Thorne.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.