Archive for Saturday, July 2, 2011

Around and About for July 2, 2011

July 2, 2011


Tommy and Danielle Mangino, Hutchinson, announce the birth of their son, Vincenzo Thomas Mangino, on June 8, 2011, at Promise Regional Medical Center in Hutchinson.

His maternal grandparents are Darrell and Debbie Huff, Lawrence; and his paternal grandparents are Mark and Mary Jane Mangino, Naples, Fla.

His great-grandparents are Jackie Huff, Lawrence, and Sam and Madeline Fiorante, and Connie Mangino, all of New Castle, Pa.

Four Washburn University students from Lawrence were recently honored by the English department.

Summer Baker is the recipient of the Ralph M. & Jeannette E. Young English Scholarship.

Amy Day was inducted into Sigma Tau Delta international English honor society and has received the Ora Wade Baker Scholarship.

Josh Lingenfelter was also inducted into Sigma Tau Delta.

Natalie Myers was also inducted into Sigma Tau Delta and was awarded the Ralph & Howard Faulkner Scholarship and the Washburn English Department Scholarship.

Christmas Craft vendors are wanted from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. July 9 at Old Jefferson Town, Hwy. 59, Oskaloosa. Sponsored by the Jefferson County Historical Society. For vendor information contact Mary Luse, (913) 774-2759.

The Lawrence High School Class of 1976 is planning its 35th reunion from 5 p.m. to 11 p.m. Sept. 3 at Maceli’s, 1031 N.H. Tickets are $35. A pre-party will be given at 7 p.m. Sept. 2 at Johnny’s Tavern, 401 N. Second St. To find classmates, email or visit Facebook, LHS Class of ‘76 Reunion. For those planning to attend, send a check to “LHS Class of ‘76,” attention Doug Brown, 502 Lawrence Ave., Lawrence, KS 66049.

K-Staters contributed a total of $117,618 to the fifth annual K-State Proud campaign, Feb. 14-18, at Kansas State University. K-State Proud is a nationally recognized, student-led campaign that raises money for student opportunity awards. The campaign goal of $100,000 was surpassed through a variety of campaign activities developed by K-State Proud student leaders. 2011 campaign co-chairs and members of the K-State Proud Advisory Board members included Michelle Colgan of Lawrence.

The 49th William Allen Pine Family Reunion was held June 26 at the Union Pacific Depot with 68 attending. The event was hosted by the Raymond Pine and Agnes Pine Strobel families, descendants of the Clarence Pine family.

Twenty Kansas State University students have earned the job of helping incoming students learn about K-State. As orientation leaders, the students assist new students and their families during K-State’s summer orientation and enrollment programs. Area students selected include Lauren Ollila, Lawrence.

Several area students accepted Fort Hays State University scholarships on April 8 for the 2011-2012 academic year at a Student Recognition Program held Feb. 20 at the Doubletree Hotel in Overland Park. They are:

Bree Edmonds, daughter of John and Jacki Wigington of Baldwin City, accepted a $900 Academic Opportunity Award in mathematics and computer science and an $800 Hays City Silver Academic Award.

Kristen Miller, daughter of Tim and Lisa Miller of Lawrence, accepted a $900 Academic Opportunity Award in art and a $700 Fort Hays Bronze Academic Award.

Kirsten Tidd, daughter of Terry and Lesa Tidd of Lawrence, accepted an $800 Hays City Silver Academic Award.

Linda Gleason, daughter of Todd and Lawanda Gleason of Lawrence, accepted a $900 Academic Opportunity Award from the College of Business and Leadership and a $500 Copper Academic Award. She also won the drawing for a $400 Student Recognition Program Scholarship.

Nicholas Stephens, son of Douglas and Jamie Stephens of Berryton, accepted a $500 Copper Academic Award.

Kansas State University’s Wildcat Warm-up announces the 2011 student counselors and directors. Wildcat Warm-up gives new students entering K-State in fall 2011 a head start on meeting other new students, connecting with faculty and staff, learning K-State traditions, getting involved in campus organizations and gaining a sense of the Wildcat spirit. Two sessions were offered this summer: June 10-12 and June 17-19. Area students selected included Logan Hartpence, Eudora, counselor.

The Stormont-Vail Foundation funded nursing scholarships totaling $65,550 for 115 students at the Baker University School of Nursing, Stormont-Vail Campus, for the spring 2011 semester. The following students earned scholarships:

Blanche Bryden Nursing Scholarship: Jordan Buckley, Wellsville, and Chelsea Carnagie, Eudora.

Christ’s Wolff Nursing Scholarship: Lindsey Deaton, Kyle Evans, Aubrey Fraker, Rachael Gabler, Hayley Scheetz and Natalie Wilkins, Lawrence; Bradley Grabauskas, Lori Livingston and John Schroer, Berryton; Ashley Tetuan, Tecumseh; and Denise Whitesides, Lecompton.

Dr. Charles S. & Doris F. Joss Nursing Scholarship: Raven Correll, Tecumseh, and Jana Wiley, Lawrence.

Gault-Hussey Nursing Scholarship: Tracy Frost, Perry; Shelby Grittman and Heather Jones, Tecumseh; Kelsey Heckathorne, Baldwin City; Carla Jahn, Ottawa; and Sarah James, Lawrence.

Marjorie Groll Nursing Scholarship: Erin Casey, Meriden; and Elizabeth Dyche, Lawrence.

Stormont-Vail Foundation Nursing Scholarship: Martin Burke, Nicole Robinson and Amanda Zwiener, all of Lawrence.

Woman’s Club Nursing Scholarship: Elizabeth Deng, Lawrence.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.