Archive for Saturday, January 29, 2011

Around and About for January 29, 2011

January 29, 2011


William Jewell College, Liberty, Mo., announces area students named to the dean’s list for the fall 2010 semester, by earning a minimum grade-point average of 3.5.

Area students are: Desiree Marmon, Eudora; and Austin Baragary and Cally Owsley, both of Tonganoxie.

Jana and Terry Rombeck, Lawrence, announce the birth of their son, Nolan James Rombeck, on Jan. 16, 2011, at St. Francis Health Center in Topeka.

His maternal grandparents are Norval and Elaine Gruver, Independence; and his paternal grandparents are Michael and Gail Rombeck, Belle Plaine.

His great-grandparents are Kenneth and Jeanne Webb, Protection; Neva Gruver, Scott City; and Charles and Jon Etta Upshaw, Wichita.

DoCo YoungLife will host a flapjack fundraiser from 8 a.m. to 10 a.m. today at Applebee’s, 3900 W. Sixth St., Lawrence. Tickets can be purchased in advance for $5, or can be purchased for $10 at the door. For more information, contact DoCo YoungLife at 764-9228.

More than 8,500 Kansas State University students have been awarded academic scholarships for the 2010-2011 school year. In all, K-State students have received more than $16 million in scholarships.

Area students earning scholarships totaling more than $1,000 include:

Baldwin City — Colby Heckathorne, Julie Hill, Brianna Krysztof, Nicole Lordemann, Clare Miles and Laiken Rockhold.

Eudora — Molly Brunton, Kayla Chilcoat, Connor Hartpence, Logan Hartpence, Sarah Lounsbury, Marian Mersmann, Charles Mersmann, Ali Nila, Ian Palmer, Sam Scott, Kyle Snow and Kalen Wright.

Lawrence — Sarah Beach, Allen Burkart, Gabrielle Burman, Cody Campbell, Daniel Carter, Tennery Carttar, Joel Christiansen, Emily Coon, Charlotte Denning, Bryant Denning, Samantha Galyardt, Nicholas Hassig, Mariah Henderson, Collin Hosek, Nels Hotvedt, John Kihm, Alexandria Koppes, Kathryn Kristiansen, Paula Kyriakos, Leanne Milleret, Morgan Mills, Thomas Nieto, Thomas Parrish, Christina Picicci, Zack Pistora, Libby Queen, Ashleigh Stagg, Adrienne Struble, David Thomas, Audra Walker, Derrick Weishaar and Lucas Wempe.

Lecompton — Mikaela Kelley, Connor Kring, Adam Lesser and Ashley Lesser.

Ottawa — Jamie Allan, Taylor Allan, Cody Croucher, Abby Guenther, Kayla Hambleton, Kylene Howard, Natalie Humerickhouse, Katherine Maier, Stephanie Mars, Michelle Nelson, Victor Ojeleye, Jacob Sipple, Shane Steelman, Kristyn Watts, Kotie Wootten, Katie Wootten and Cara Yuen.

Wellsville — Alex Bachman, Benjamin Balman, Chelsy Coen, Chailyn Cummings, John Deterding and Emily Sellers.

McLouth — Jarrod Bechard, Roger Keyes, Ashlee McClelland, Taylor Rush and Katlin Walbridge.

Meriden — Ivey Bruton, Jessica Martin, Austin Narverud, Jenna Petesch, BriA’nna Ploude and Devan Zwygart.

Oskaloosa — Rachel Cunningham, Brian Henry, Audrey Metzger, Rebecca O’Brien, Allyson Ottensmeier, Chelsie Shackelford and Audrey Trowbridge.

Perry — Emma Gantz.

Winchester — Matthew Finley and John Hensleigh.

De Soto — Tamara McFarland, Foster Moore, Derek Sommer and Samuel Wilcox.

Basehor — Klinton Brown, Melissa Cochran, Anne Dickinson, Kathryn Fratzel, Jacob Mark, Glen Maughmer, Alex Mcmillian, Nicholas Meyer, Samuel Mustain, Kimberly Peterson and Jenny Swabb.

Linwood — Mary Cox, Spencer Dove and Haley Field.

Tonganoxie — Amanda Albert, Nicole Allen, Jake Bontrager, Mitchell DeHoff, Jacob Herrstrom, Megan Holton, Kelly Leonard, Matthew Lutz, Lacey Moore, Katherine Slavin and Sarah Swaim.

Overbrook — Anna Baughan, Hailey Clemons, Cassandra Pryor, Grace Tucker and Jonathan Zeller.

The following students were named to Baker University’s College of Arts and Sciences and School of Education undergraduate dean’s list, by maintaining a 3.5 grade-point average or higher during the fall 2010 semester.

Area students named to dean’s list are:

Baldwin City — Samuel Beecher, Parker Duncan, William Duncan, Joshua Hanson, Meredith Hodges, Austin Inzer, Melinda King, Brian Lamoreux, Kaylin McCrary, Anna Richards, Catherine Richards, Catherine Sailler, Allyson Sass, Michael Sheridan and Sarah Taylor.

Basehor — Eric Hendricks.

De Soto — Austin DeGraeve, Douglas Ireland, John King and Amber White.

Eudora — Haley Epperson, Judy Erpelding, Bryan Kindle, Carrie Lister and Loryn Walrod.

Lawrence — Christian Allen, Kelsey Allen, Adrienne Barclay, Morgan Brown, Rebecca Davis, Genevieve Des Marteau, Katherine Dick, Amanda Garrison, Wolfgang Johanning, Katy Kendrick, Jamie Larsen, Paul Leltschinger, Hillary Long, Dominick Reiske, Connor Stremel, George Swisher and Lauren Thames.

McLouth — Kylie Campbell.

Oskaloosa — April Kruse.

Overbrook — Valentine Schirmer and Levi Sund.

Tonganoxie — Tara Chumley and Eli Jones.

Jessyka Coulter, daughter of Synthia Dove of Linwood, was named to the dean’s honor list for the fall 2010 semester at Morningside College in Sioux City, Iowa, by earning a grade-point average of 3.67 or higher.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.