Archive for Saturday, February 19, 2011

Club news for February 19, 2011

February 19, 2011


Over the Rainbow Doll Club met Feb. 10 at the home of Barbara Walden. Members discussed a possible field trip to see Princess Diana’s dress collection at Union Station in Kansas City, Mo. Members costumed their club doll for Valentine’s Day. The doll’s were entered in one of four categories. Winners were Suzanne McGinn (elegant), Val Fittell (whimsical), Janet Lukehart (most Valentine’s), and Gail Brewster (off-the-wall). This month’s door prize was won by Doris Ottinger. Barbara Walden gave a lesson on doll artist Jodi Palula.

University Bridge Club announces results of its Feb. 12 meeting with hosts Janet Dunn and Donna Gatts.

Blue winners: Walt Hicks, first; Alice Akin, second; Rhetta Jo Noever, third; Lois Liebert, fourth; and Robert Smith, fifth.

Pink winners: Sadie Deaton, first; Florence McNicoll, second; Cathy Waller, third; Willi Stark, fourth; and Cora Kuepker, fifth.

The Wednesday Afternoon Duplicate Bridge Club’s game on Feb. 9 was directed by Chris Lane. North-South winners were Judy Hildreth and Polly Schoning, first in A; Janice Hollowell and Mary Fenlon, second in A; Bobby Patton and Mark Osborn, third in A and first in B; and Virginia Johnston and Clarice Broz, second in B and first in C.

East-West winners were David Piro and Paul Hietzman, first in A; Eldon Herd and Sheri Krentzel, second in A; Klee Zaricky and John Oxley tied in third in A with Virginia Seaver and Lois Clark; Mona Bell and Carol Ball, first in B and C; and Yvonne Hedges and Sally Taylor, second in B.

The Friday Afternoon Duplicate Bridge Club’s game on Feb. 11 was directed by Virginia Seaver. North-South winners were Chris Lane and Carol Ball, first in A and B; Jan O’Connor and Sally Taylor, second in A and B; and Lester Dalton and Virginia Johnston, third in A.

East-West winners were Ed Howard and James Gunn, first in A; Paul Heitzman and David Piro, second in A; Eldon Herd and Jean Otney, third in A; Lois Clark and Mark Osborn, first in B; and Dick Shaffer and Jack Flickinger, second in B and first in C.

The Monday Evening Duplicate Bridge Club’s game on Feb. 14 was directed by Virginia Seaver. Winners were Jolene Andersen and Jean Khatib, first in A and B; James Masilamani and Donna Johnson, second in A; and Peter Petillo and Jerry Sloan, third in A.

The Clinton Lake Historical Society Annual Meeting will be at 6 p.m. today at the Clinton Presbyterian Church, 596 N 1200 Road, with a pot luck dinner. Coffee, butter and rolls will be provided. Please bring your own service. Business meeting including election of officers will precede the evening’s guest speaker. Joan Stone, choreographer and dance historian from Kansas University, will also present a video of 2010 Dance of the Rings.쇓


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.