Four KU students nominated for prestigious Truman Scholarships

Four Kansas University students have been nominated to compete for Harry S. Truman Scholarships, which provide up to $30,000 for college students preparing for leadership in public service.

The nominees:

• Erin Elizabeth Atwood, a Topeka senior majoring in genetics and Spanish.

• Julia Arielle Barnard, a Lawrence junior majoring in history.

• Meredith Marie Pavicic, a Leawood senior majoring in women, gender and sexuality studies.

• Cara Neufeld Smith, a Topeka senior majoring in applied behavioral science with a community health concentration.

A selection committee is reviewing applications from about 600 nominees from across the country. Regional panels will interview about 200 semifinalists in March and make recommendations for the 75 scholarships available nationally.