Archive for Saturday, December 10, 2011

Club news for December 10, 2011

December 10, 2011


Over the Rainbow Doll Club met Dec. 3 for their Christmas Party at Three Sisters’ Inn in Baldwin City. Members enjoyed a luncheon and then participated in a gift exchange in the parlor. Prior to the gift exchange, Mikhenna and Mikhaila Brown played their violins for the club. Door prizes were won by Vera Piersee and Kelsey McGinn. Members gave donations to Warm Heart (Black Hills Cares) and Just Food.

The Wednesday Afternoon Duplicate Bridge Club’s game on Nov. 30 was directed by Chris Lane. North-South winners in the 12 tables of players were Ed Howard and John Fittell, first in A; Grant Sutton and Catherine Blumenfeld, second in A and first in B; Larry Weatherholt and Dave Chipman, third in A; Judy Bevan and Barbara McCorkle, fourth in A and second in B; Chris Lane and Eleanor Patton, fifth in A; and Margrete Hartman and Albert Ballard, first in C.

East-West winners were Dick Shaffer and Jack Flickinger, first in A, B and C; Linda Schottler and Katha Hurt, second in A and B; John Oxley and Elizabeth Jankord, third in A; Virginia Seaver and Shirley Reese, fourth in A; and Nita Scales and Mona Bell, fifth in A and third in B.

The Friday Afternoon Duplicate Bridge Club’s game on Dec. 2 was directed by Virginia Seaver. North-South winners were Jerry Sloan and Grant Sutton, first in A; Steven Vossler and Larry Weatherholt, second in A; Virginia Seaver and Sally Taylor, third in A; Dave Chipman and James Masilamani, fourth in A; Shirley Reese and Betty Collier, first in B; and Janice Hollowell and Jean Otney, second in B.

East-West winners were John Oxley and Klee Zaricky, first in A; Ed Howard and Mark Osborn, second in A; David Piro and Paul Heitzman, third in A; Catherine Blumenfeld and Lois Clark, fourth in A and first in B; Jean Khatib and Debbie Bettinger, second in B and first in C; and Jolene Andersen and Judy Bevan, second in C.

The Monday Evening Duplicate Bridge Club’s game on Dec. 5 was directed by Virginia Seaver. Winners were Eldon Herd and Jerry Sloan, first in A; Virginia Seaver and Lois Clark, second in A; Ed Howard and Dave Chipman, third in A; Shari Krentzel and Mark Osborn, fourth in A; and Jolene Andersen and Patrick Musick, first in B.

The University Bridge Club announces results of its Dec. 3 meeting with hosts Dottie Miller, Sadie Deaton, Bonnie Haney and Rhetta Jo Noever.

Blue winners: Florence McNicoll, first; Al Smith, second; Willie Stoltenberg, third; John Golden, fourth; and Marc Kuepker, and fifth.

Pink winners: Ruth Gibbs, first; Karen Zimmerer, second; Betty Vincent, third; Hazel Stellmacher, fourth; and Cora Kuepker, fifth.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.