Archive for Saturday, August 13, 2011

Club news August 13, 2011

August 13, 2011


University Bridge Club announces results of its Aug. 6 meeting. Hosts were George and Ruth Gibbs and Tom and Cathy Waller.

Blue winners: John Stark, first; George Gibbs, second; Walt Hicks, third; Rob Smith, fourth; and Marc Kuepker, fifth.

Pink winners: Wanda Kring, first; Willi Stark, second; Jo Anne Hicks, third; Joan VanNice, fourth; and Harold Riehm, fifth.

The Wednesday Afternoon Duplicate Bridge Club’s game on Aug. 3 was a North American Pairs qualifying round and was directed by Chris Lane. North-South winners were Kent McCullough and John Fittell, first in A and B; Chris Lane and Charles Hedges, second in A and B; Lane and Hedges were also tied with Karen Carlsen and Kit Carsen, first in C; Eldon Herd and Nathan Rosen, fourth in A; and Nita Scales and Florine Creek, second in C; Other qualifiers were Betty Collier and Klee Zaricky followed by Wanda Durbin and Klee Zaricky.

East-West winners were Yvonne Hedges and Sally Taylor, first in A and B; Paul Heitzman and David Piro, second in A; Dave Chipman and James Masilamani tied in third in A with Catherine Blumenfeld and Grant Sutton; and Blumenfeld and Sutton also placed second in B; Jack Flickinger and Clarice Broz, first in C; Other qualifiers were Jerry Sloan and Virginia Seaver plus Barbara Haverty and Debbie Bettinger.

The Thursday Morning Mentor Duplicate Bridge Club’s Aug. 4 game was directed by Chris Lane. Winners were Karen Carlsen and Chris Lane, first; Mary Locniskar and Mary Cornwell, second; and Dearonda Ashley and Gary Joyce, third; and Jan O’Connor and Shannon O’Connor, fourth.

The Friday Afternoon Duplicate Bridge Club’s Aug. 5 game was directed by Virginia Seaver. North-South winners were Jerry Sloan and Dave Chipman, first in A; Virginia Seaver and Sally Taylor, second in A; Mary Fenlon and Wanda Dubin, third in A; and Janice Hollowell and Jean Otney, first in B.

East-West winners were Klee Zaricky and Grant Sutton, first in A and B; Craig Huneke and Jeremy Martin, second in A and in B, and first in C; Paul Heitzman and David Piro, third in A; and Debbie Bettinger and Catherine Blumenfeld, second in C.

The Monday Evening Duplicate Bridge Club’s game on Aug. 8 was directed by Chris Lane. Winners were Grant Sutton and Jolene Andersen, first; Ann Thompson and Albert Ballard tied in second with Chris Lane and Emily Foster; and Eldon Herd and Mary Fenlon, fourth.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.