Archive for Saturday, August 6, 2011

Club news August 6, 2011

August 6, 2011


University Bridge Club announces results of its July 30 meeting with hosts Roz and Karen Zimmerer and Sadie Deaton.

Blue winners: Al Smith, first; Harold Riehm, second; Walt Hicks, third; Alice Akin, fourth; and Cathy Stephens, fifth.

Pink winners: Betty Vincent, first; Willi Stark, second; Wanda Kring, third; Cora Kuepker, fourth; and Bebe Huxtable, fifth.

The Lawrence Duplicate Bridge Club’s game on July 27 was directed by Chris Lane. North-South winners were Vince Nordberg and Steven Vossler, first in A; Clarice Broz and Grant Sutton, second in A and first in B; Margrete Hartman and Albert Ballard, third in A, second in B, and first in C; John Fittell and Klee Zaricky, fourth in A and third in B; Judy Hildreth and Jerry Sloan, fifth in A; and Barbara McCorkle and Debbie Bettinger, fourth in B and second in C. 

East-West winners were Virginia Seaver and Shirley Reese, first in A; David Piro and Paul Heitzman, second in A; Dick Shaffer and Angie Davidson, third in A, and first in B and C; Hailong Dao and Craig Huneke, fourth in A and second in B; Yvonne Hedges and Sally Taylor, fifth in A and third in B; and Barbara Haverty and Florine Creek, second in C.

The Thursday Morning Mentor Duplicate Bridge Club’s game on July 28 was directed by Chris Lane. Winners were Jack Flickinger and Chris Lane, first; Marilyn Martin and Barbara McCorkle tied in second with Lester Dalton and Jean Khatib; Esther Lerner and Nita Scales, fourth; Virginia Seaver and Melissa Moore, fifth; and Mary Locniskar and Mary Cornwell tied in sixth with Deronda Ashley and Gary Joyce.

The Friday Afternoon Duplicate Bridge Club’s game on July 29 was directed by Virginia Seaver. North-South winners were Mary Fenlon and Wanda Durbin, first in A; Virginia Seaver and Chris Lane, second in A; Vince Nordberg and Craig Huneke, third in A and first in B; and Debbie Bettinger and Barbara Haverty, fourth in A, second in B, and first in C.

East-West winners were Paul Heitzman and David Piro, first in A; Jerry Sloan and James Masilamani, second in A; Marilyn Martin and Judy Bevan, third in A and first in B; Ed Howard and Suzanne Wassmer, fourth in A; Sally Taylor and Klee Zaricky, second in B; and Jack Flickinger and Dick Shaffer, first in C.

The Monday Evening Duplicate Bridge Club’s game on Aug. 1 was directed by Virginia Seaver. Winners were John Hickey and Grant Sutton, first; Janice Hollowell and Mary Fenlon, second; Larry Weatherholt and James Masilamani, third; and Eldon Herd and Jerry Sloan, fourth.

Seven members of the Altrusa International Inc. Club of Lawrence attended and returned with several awards from the Altrusa District Eight Conference (which included 25 clubs from Kansas, Missouri, Oklahoma and Arkansas) April 28-30 in Sikeston, Mo.

Lawrence members attending were club president Chris Day, past president Mary Robison, past president and former District Eight board member Sally Brandt, new Altrusa International strategic planning chairwoman Janet Horner, District Eight leadership chairwoman Kassie Edwards, Lyn Walther, and Patie Fielding (a former Lawrence resident, member of the Lawrence delegation and past District Eight governor, who now lives in Hilton Head, N.C.).

The club received awards in: club display, third; Mamie L. Bass Community Service award for the Altrusa club partnership with New York School, second; club newsletter, first; and the club’s 10- year “Born to Read” project won the Governor’s Distinguished Service Award.

Also during the conference, Edwards was the all conference workshop presenter and presented “The Power of One.” Horner was named committee chairwoman and will lead the other committee members in developing, reviewing and recommending strategies to help Altrusa complete its mission around the world. Horner, who also serves on the membership/new club building committee of Altrusa’s four-state District Eight, was slated to take on additional responsibilities as vice president/program coordinator on June 1.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.