Archive for Saturday, April 2, 2011

Club news for April 2, 2011

April 2, 2011


University Bridge Club announces results of its March 26 meeting with hosts Virginia Williams, Florence McNicoll, Alice Akin and Lois Liebert.

Blue winners: Dale Kring, first; Rhetta Jo Noever, second; Dan Harden, third; Karmie Galle, fourth; and Bebe Huxtable, fifth.

Pink winners: Alice Akin, first; Carol Smith, second; Wanda Kring, third; Ruth Harwood, fourth; and Willie Stoltenberg, fifth.

The Pilot International Club of Lawrence announces new officers elected for the 2011-12 year. Officers are Joan VanNice, president; Merna Dean, president-elect; Lardeea Hickey, secretary; and Marilyn Bristol, treasurer; with directors Norma Leary, Elaine Seeman and Tricia Boyd.

The club will also host the 2011 KS-MO District Spring Convention Friday and Saturday at Spring Hill Suites in Lawrence. Representatives attending the convention from Pilot International Executive Committee are Susan Hoffmann, PI president, and Shannon Clegg, PI director. Tricia Boyd, current Lawrence club president, and Vernis Flottman, Lawrence convention chairwoman, will welcome attendees from the 17 District clubs. Attendees will support Just Food in Lawrence by donating non-perishable food upon arrival. Guest speakers include James Sherman, Andrea McMurray, Myra Hyatt and Barbara Ballard.

The Wednesday Afternoon Duplicate Bridge Club’s game on March 23 was directed by Chris Lane. North-South winners were Catherine Blumenfeld and Grant Sutton, first in A and B; Mary Fenlon and Lester Dalton, second in A; Steven Vossler and Vince Nordberg, third in A; Bobby Patton and Ed Howard, fourth in A; Clarice Broz and Virginia Johnston, second in B and first in C; and Patricia Lechtenberg and Jean Khatib, second in C. 

East-West winners were Craig Huneke and Shirley Reese, first in A and B; Sally Taylor and Yvonne Hedges, second in A and B; Klee Zaricky and John Oxley, third in A; and Barbara McCorkle and Judy Bevan, fourth in A and first in C.

The Thursday Morning Duplicate Mentor Club’s game on March 24 and was directed by Chris Lane. Winners were Don Daugherty and John Reese, first; Mary Treese and Barbara Haverty, second; Karen Carlsen and Kit Carlsen, third; and Angie Davidson and Jean Khatib, fourth.

The Friday Afternoon Duplicate Bridge Club’s game on March 25 was directed by Chris Lane. North-South winners were Lester Dalton and Mary Fenlon, first in A; Grant Sutton and Catherine Blumenfeld, second in A and first in B; and Chris Lane and Jan O’Connor, third in A and second in B.

East-West winners were Steven Vossler and Mark Osborn, first in A; Vince Nordberg and Craig Huneke, second in A and first in B; Paul Heitzman and David Piro, third in A; and Shirley Reese and Yvonne Hedges, second in B.

The Monday Evening Duplicate Bridge Club’s game on March 28 was directed by Virginia Seaver. Winners were Jerry Sloan and Grant Sutton, first in A; Donna Johnson and James Masilamani, second in A; Peter Petillo and Brian Barrett, third in A and first in B; and John Reese and Don Daugherty, second in B and first in C.

The Betty Washington Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution met March 19 at the American Legion Post No. 14, 3408 W. Sixth St. After the DAR Ritual and flag salute, roll call was taken. The president general’s message and National Defender were read. Officers and committee reports were then given. Shari Johnson talked about the rededication of Real Daughter Lucy Estabrook. The rededication was March 26 at Oak Hill Cemetery. A tea followed at the American Legion. Diane Myer announced the winner for the America History Contest will be presented with an award and pin at 12:45 p.m. Friday at Prairie Park School. Johnson also talked about the St. Patrick’s Day Parade and passed around photos. After the meeting, Mary Burchill gave a talk about “The Life of Our Real Daughter Lucy Estabrook.” The next meeting is scheduled for 10 a.m., April 16 at the American Legion. After the meeting, members are invited to Melodee Wallace’s farm for a tour. Martha Parker will speak about the “History of the area.” Members will attend the ROTC ceremonies for the Navy and the Army on April 27 and May 12 at Kansas University to present awards and ROTC pins. For more information, contact Johnson at 843-6199 or Wallace at 887-6833.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.