Archive for Saturday, April 2, 2011

Around and About for April 2, 2011

April 2, 2011


Northwest Missouri State University, Maryville, Mo., announces area students named to its honor rolls for the fall 2010 trimester.

Area students are: Megan O’Bryan (academic), Bonner Springs; Britany Bahr (president), Lawrence; and Joel Gantz (academic), Perry.

Students named to the academic honor roll must earn a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher; those named to the president’s honor roll earned a 4.0 grade-point average.

Casey Maxon, Lawrence, was named to the fall 2010 honor roll at McPherson College by earning a grade-point average of 3.55 or higher.

Drake University, Des Moines, Iowa, announces Lawrence students named to its fall 2010 honor rolls. To be named to the president’s list, students have achieved a 4.0 grade-point average. Those named to the dean’s list earned a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher.

Justine Ahle, Jordan Payne and Peter Zemansky were named to the president’s list; and Matthew Farrier, Aliza Rosenthal and Lucca Wang were named to the dean’s list.

Carson Barnes, Ottawa, Baldwin High School, was one of three Kansas high school seniors named a 2011 recipient of Kansas State University’s Presidential Scholarship, the largest scholarship award in the state.

The Presidential Scholarship is worth $20,000 a year or up to $80,000 over four years. As K-State’s most selective scholarship award, it recognizes students who have been outstanding academically and were student leaders during their high school career.

MacKenzie Flory, Baldwin City, will exhibit Angus cattle at the 2011 Western Regional Junior Angus Show to be held April 29-30 in Reno, Nev. Flory, a junior member of the American Angus Association, is one of 94 young Angus breeders who have entered a total of 221 head to compete for championship honors.

Sydney Keizer, the daughter of Ferry Keizer and Caroline Grootes of Lawrence, is participating in the Coe College music program during the 2010-2011 academic year. Keizer is a member of choir and is currently a first-year student at the college in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

Christa and Jed Baughman, Kansas City, Kan., announce the birth of their son, Rhys Matthew Baughman, on March 13, at Research Hospital in Kansas City, Kan.

His maternal grandparents are Jess and Linda Madrigal, Independence, Mo.; and his paternal grandparents are John and Pamela Baughman, Lawrence.

Brooke Sutherland, Lawrence, a junior at Washington and Lee University, has earned honor roll status for the fall 2010 term. Honor roll status at Washington and Lee represents a term grade-average of at least 3.75.

Kaplan University celebrated the graduation of its winter 2011 class during a live graduation ceremony Feb. 5 in Miami, Fla. Lawrence students awarded degrees were: Jacqueline Millin, master’s in teacher education and Jeremy Oakley, bachelor’s in information technology.

Cloud County Community College announces area students named to the fall 2010 honor roll, by earning a minimum 3.6 grade-point average. Area students are: Parker Donahey and Megan Case, Lawrence; and Joseph Reid, Berryton.

Jennifer Loewen, Lawrence, was named to the fall 2010 dean’s list at Cornell College in Mount Vernon, Iowa. Loewen earned the honors designation, for achieving a grade-point average between 3.6 and 3.79.

Carina Fowler and Betty Zhang, both of Lawrence, were named to the dean’s list for the fall 2010 semester at Washington University in St. Louis, by earning a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher.

Emily Johnson, a Lawrence High School senior, was named the overall winner of the 2011 Kansas Art Education Youth Art Month Contest. The contest, sponsored by Sargent Art, awards one winner for the state of Kansas. Johnson, a parent and her art teacher will receive an all-expense paid trip to New York to visit area sites and art museums. Part of the prize includes art supplies.

Garrett Jones, a 2009 graduate of Perry-Lecompton High School, has been named to the All-Kansas Phi Theta Kappa Academic Team.

Kansas saluted 46 community college scholars for their academic accomplishments Feb. 17 during the 16th annual Phi Theta Kappa Honors Luncheon held in conjunction with the February Kansas Board of Regents meeting at the Ramada Inn Hotel in Topeka.

Each student received a proclamation issued by Gov. Sam Brownback, an educational scholarship of $300, and an academic medallion.

Peter Esau and Samantha Wheeler, both of Lawrence, were named to the fall 2010 provost and vice president for academic affairs’ list at Truman State University in Kirksville, Mo., by earning a grade-point average between 3.5 to 3.99.

Myla Heston, Oskaloosa, was one of eight members of Emporia State University’s Phi Beta Lambda team who attended the state leadership conference Feb. 25-26 at Cowley County Community College. Heston earned first place in economic analysis and decision making. ESU members who placed first or second in their events are eligible to compete at the PBL national leadership conference June 23 in Orlando, Fla.

Twelve Kansas State University undergraduates attended the 18th annual National Character and Leadership Symposium, Feb. 24-25, at the U.S. Air Force Academy near Colorado Springs, Colo.

The symposium brings together students, distinguished scholars, armed forces leaders, corporate presidents and other prominent individuals to explore various dimensions of character and leadership.

Area K-State students attending the symposium were: Eric Budy, Basehor; and Katherine Maier, Ottawa, both AFROTC cadets.

Megan Ballock, Eudora, graduated Dec. 17 from Pittsburg State University with departmental academic honors. To graduate with these honors, a student must have overall and departmental minimum grade-point average of 3.5 and a minimum of nine semester hours of course work in the student’s major department taken for honors. Ballock majored in family and consumer sciences education.

Madison Orth, Lawrence, was named to the fall 2010 honor roll at the University of Oklahoma in Norman, by earning a minimum 3.5 grade-point average.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.