Archive for Saturday, March 27, 2010

Around and about

March 27, 2010


Emporia State University announces 2009-2010 area scholarship recipients. They are:

Baldwin City — Lindsay Atchison, Emily Garcia, Amber Jackson, Sarah Johnson, Elizabeth Oliver and April Robbs.

Berryton — Kenneth Burkhead, Victoria Crocker, Marcie Fundis and Ryan Hahn.

Bonner Springs — Katie Farnsworth, Lisa Pettibon and Catherine Smith.

De Soto — Christopher Dvorak, Morgan Frehe, Emily Hedge and Benjamin Smith.

Eudora — Kendal Abel and Joshua Blaisdell.

Lawrence — Hannah Bain, Ashley Beason, Alyson Beery, Kevin Brady, Lori Byers, Kelly Chadwick, Monica Claassen-Wilson, Emily Doyle, Kathleen Finnegan, Anthony Foust, Eric Fox, Jaymie Hardtarfer, Charles Hoag, Olson Kilmer, Tyler Knight, Karen Kroge, Jacob Kucza, Raymond Lee, Caroline Markley, Stephen Mason, Katie McClain, Emily McDonald, Marla Metsker, Julianne Newberry, Daniel O’Connell, Natalie Rabiola, Emily Readinger, Shae Stringer, Stacey VanHouten, Brianna VanSchoelandt, Amber Wealthall, Mallory West and Jordan Yulich.

Lecompton — Gregory Gantz and Kali Roberts.

Linwood — Bailey Scott and Sydney Stallbaumer.

McLouth — Lezley Lawson.

Meriden — Whitney Czajkowski, Jacob Narverud and Anthony Pence.

Oskaloosa — Myla Heston.

Ottawa — Amber Anderson, Ashley Farrell, Emily Harvey, Leah Kennedy, Emily Moore, Tiffany Morrow, Mandy Todd, Brandi Wade and Stephanie Worthington.

Overbrook — Chase McIver.

Perry — Sarah Hodges and Crista Park.

Tecumseh — Holly Canfield and Kyle Farmer.

Tonganoxie — Alyson Baggett, Kirsten Baggett, Shawna Berry, Chelsea Calovich, Noah Fugate, Brittany Harbour, Katelyn Kerbaugh, Raylynn Laster-White, Stephanie Reynolds and Christy Weller.

Wellsville — Lacy Jordan and David Sessions.

The children of Mabel Stoneback, Teresa, Brad and Renee, would like to honor her 95th birthday on April 5 with a card shower. Cards can be sent to Stoneback at 5121 Congressional Circle, G-108, Lawrence, KS 66049.

Katie and Michael Johnson, Lakeside, Ariz., announce the birth of their daughter, Imrie Morgan Johnson, on Feb. 6, 2010, at Navapache Regional Medical Center, Show Low, Ariz.

Imrie has a sister, Ailey Erin Johnson, 2.

Her maternal grandparents are Terry and Gretchen Malone, Dodge City; her paternal grandparents are Ken and Chris Johnson, Lawrence.

Her great-grandparents are Stan and Joyce Mullenix, Lawrence.

The following Lawrence students were named to the dean’s list for the fall 2009 semester in the College of Arts & Sciences at Washington University in St. Louis, by earning a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher: Stephanie Drahozal, Carina Fowler, Katrina Jongman-Sereno, Erin Thimmesch, Betty Zhang and Boning Zhang.

Southwest Junior High School won the championship trophy and Central Junior High School finished third in K-9 of the Kansas State Chess Association Chess Championships on March 13 at Blue Valley Northwest High School in Overland Park. West Junior High School placed second in K-8, while Lawrence High School earned second in K-12 in 6A.

Individually, West’s Aaron Simon was the champion in K-8.

Other Lawrence medal winners in K-12 were: Thomas Clark, Free State High School, second; and Roy Wedge, LHS, third.

In K-9: Kaustubh Nimkar, Southwest, second: Andrei Elliott, Southwest, third; Austin Bailey, Central, fifth; Eddie Wilson, Central, sixth; Sam Beaulieu, Central, eighth; Venkata Malladi, Southwest, ninth; Ian Gent, Central, 11th; Owen McFadden, South Junior High School, 14th; Robert Newman, South, 15th; Jacob Magnuson, Southwest, 18th; Darren Rawlings, South, 19th; Thomas Peterson, Southwest, 22nd; Eddie Loupe, Southwest, 24th; Quanah Wilson, South, 25th; Zachary Moore, Southwest, 27th; and Dustin Hauptman, Southwest, 29th.

In K-8: Joseph Miller, West, 16th; and Caleb Ledbetter, West, 24th.

In K-6: Ting-Ting Shi, Quail Run, second; Jonathan Lesslie, Quail Run, 17th; Josh Kallenbach, Quail Run, 19th; Roscoe Bradt, Cordley, 22nd; Jackson Maher, Cordley, 24th; McCarthy Fitch, Cordley, 25th; and Soraqah Alomari, Sunflower, 29th.

In K-5: Apramay Mishra, Sunflower, seventh.

In K-3: Ryan Duan, Quail Run, 19th; Kelsey Jian, Sunflower, 23rd; Jasmine Mihu, Prairie Park, 34th; Jori Rudisell, Prairie Park, 36th; Guthrie Bricker, Cordley, 38th; Sebi Brown, Cordley, 46th; Colin Greenfield, Prairie Park, 58th; Alexadrea Perkins, Prairie Park, 62nd; Ben Hoopes, Cordley, 66th; Andrew Wettengel, Cordley, 79th; Rajin Nagpal, Sunflower, 82nd; Liam Hoey-Kummarow, Cordley, 84th; Paislea Murphy, Prairie Park, 97th; Justice Almaraz, Prairie Park, 98th; and Jillian Schwartz, Prairie Park, 102nd.

Fern Hayes, Lawrence, will celebrate her 90th birthday with a card shower and a gathering of family and friends from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m. today at the VFW Post No. 852, 138 Ala., Lawrence. Cards for Hayes may be brought to the Post.

Lindsey and Jason Hoover, Eudora, announce the birth of their son, Colby James Hoover, on March 22, 2010, at Lawrence Memorial Hospital.

Colby has a sister, Payton, 2.

His maternal grandparents are Mike and Marcia Smith; and his paternal grandparents are Jim and Carole Hoover, all of Eudora.

His great-grandmother is Nell C. Smith, Columbus, Ga.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.