Archive for Saturday, June 19, 2010

Around and about

June 19, 2010


Jordan Noller, Lawrence, graduated cum laude with honors in Latin on June 5 from Knox College, Galesburg, Ill. Noller majored in environmental studies with minors in biology and Classics-Latin. She has been accepted as a post-baccalaureate fellow at Knox for the upcoming academic year.

The Lawrence High School Class of 1990 is planning its 20-year reunion on the same weekend as the LHS Homecoming, Sept. 17-19. Members are encouraged to attend the football game at the LHS stadium on Friday night, a party at the Eldridge on Saturday night and a family picnic on Sunday. For more information, or to register, visit

Laura Kingston, Lawrence, was named to the dean’s list at Champlain College in Burlington, Vt., for earning a minimum grade-point average of 3.5 for the spring 2010 semester. Kingston is majoring in mass communication.

David Debiasse, Lawrence, was named to the dean’s list for the spring 2010 semester at the University of Central Missouri in Warrensburg. Debiasse’s academic work earned him a place on the 4.0 list.

The Lawrence branch of the NAACP awarded three scholarships to local high school students. Ursula Minor presented the Spirit Award to Vincea Angel Paramore and the Hope Award to Alex Welcher, both of Lawrence High School. Sonya Johnson presented the Eagle Award to Ruaa Hassaballa of Free State High School.

The Old West Lawrence Neighborhood Association announces winners of the May-June Applause Awards, which recognize homeowners who make improvements to their properties and add beauty to the neighborhood:

• Janice and Daniel Poule, 821 Ohio, have a blooming front yard with hostas, peonies, iris, sedum and a rock wall along the front, which is kept neat and beautiful in every season.

• Marvin Huey, Jr., 820 Ind., has a pale yellow Victorian with trim in two shades of blue and a white picket fence surrounding a colorful cottage garden. Pansies, daisies and daylilies bloom in the yard, intermixed with lettuce and herbs.

• Kim and David Sain, 745 Maine, refer to their 1906 cottage as a “working class Victorian.” Since 1991, the Sains have completely renovated the structure with green design in mind. The neatly painted and appointed house has a new deck for sunbathing, and at the back of the lot, a carport with storage.

• Rita York, 816 Maine, painted her gambrel roofed home a shade of pumpkin with cream trim. The shingles on the second story are accented in brown and yellow.

Dr. Chris and Kylee Leatherman, Kansas City, Mo., announce the birth of their son, Robert Christopher, on April 19, 2010. Robert has a sister, Alex.

His maternal grandparents are Marcia and Bob Kerr, Lawrence; and his paternal grandparents are Judy and Larry Leatherman, Erie, Colo.

Grace Smarsh, Lawrence, graduated with a bachelor’s degree in zoology, summa cum laude, on May 22 from the University of New Hampshire, in Durham, by earning a grade-point average between 3.7 and 4.0.

Evan Hilpman, Lawrence, was awarded a bachelor’s degree in biology at Colorado College on May 17. Hilpman, a graduate of Free State High School, is the son of Margaret and Dwight Hilpman.

Kara Roelofs, Lawrence, received the Outstanding Academic Achievement Award in nursing at the celebration of honors held April 23 at William Jewell College in Liberty, Mo. Roelofs, a senior, was an accelerated track nursing major during the spring 2010 semester.

Cara Powers, Lawrence, was awarded a bachelor’s degree in theatre from Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter, Minn., during the school’s annual commencement exercises on May 30.

Several area students were recognized during Ottawa University’s spring honors convocation on April 22.

They are: Emily McAfoos, Basehor, OU Champions of Character Individual Award (women’s cross country); Caj Kueffer, Baldwin City, OU Champions of Character individual Award (men’s cross country); and Cyrus Oliver II, Baldwin City, Sigma Alpha and 2010 Kansas Associated Collegiate Press Awards for cartoons, infographics and illustrations; and Jolene Rutledge, Wellsville, Alpha Sigma Lambda, and Excellence in Preservice Teaching (grades 6 - 12).

Ottawa University announces dean’s list, honor roll and medal of excellence recipients for the spring 2010 semester.

The dean’s list requires students to complete a minimum of 24 semester hours over the preceding two semesters with a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.5.

The dean’s honor roll requires a student to complete at least 12 semester hours during the preceding semester and maintain a grade-point average of at least 3.5.

Medal of Excellence recipients are students who have earned a 4.0 grade-point average for at least two semesters/terms during the same academic year.

Those named to the dean’s list are: Clad Kueffer, Clyde Kueffer and Cyrus Oliver II, Baldwin City; Brock McGinnis, Oskaloosa; Kelsey Nelson, Tonganoxie; and Jolene Rutledge, Wellsville. Rutledge was also a Medal of Excellence recipient.

Those named to the dean’s honor roll are: Cy Kueffer and Kayla Pringle, Baldwin City; Elizabeth Hall, Courtney Harris and Kyle Schreiner, Lawrence; and Sean Blosser, Perry.

Julia Davidson and Katherine Steir, both of Lawrence, were named to the dean’s list for the spring 2010 semester at Macalester College in St. Paul, Minn., by earning a grade-point average of at least 3.75.

Davidson, a freshman, is a graduate of Bishop Seabury Academy and the daughter of Steve Davidson and Jane Faubion.

Steir, a sophomore, is a graduate of Lawrence High School and the daughter of Harvey and Mary Steir.

Banaka Okwuone, Lawrence, graduated this spring with honors from Southern University and A&M; College, Baton Rouge, La. Okwuone was awarded a bachelor’s degree in biology, cum laude, by earning a cumulative grade-point average between 3.4 and 3.69.

Megan Case and Parker Donahey, Lawrence, and Michael Lee, Oskaloosa, were named to the spring 2010 academic honor roll at Cloud County Community College in Concordia by earning a minimum grade-point average of 3.6.

Truman State University, Kirksville, Mo., announces recent graduates and students honored for earning a grade-point average between 3.5 and 3.99.

Receiving bachelor’s degrees on May 8 were Jordan Gribble, communication disorders, Basehor; and Desmond Granger, history, Lawrence.

Named to the spring 2010 provost and vice president’s list were Gribble and Samantha Wheeler, an art major from Lawrence.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.