Archive for Saturday, February 20, 2010

Scouting news

February 20, 2010


Members of Baldwin’s Boy Scout Troop 65 were recognized during the 2010 Tamegonit Lodge Order of the Arrow Winter Banquet on Jan. 2 at Bartle Hall.

Scouts Sam Richards and Colby Soden were recognized as members of the 2009 Vigil Honor class.

Richards also accepted the lodge’s Committee of the Year award as chairman of the Whippoorwill Council Ring Committee.

Three members of Troop 65 hold offices within the lodge. They are: Soden, vice-chief; Richards, secretary; and Royce Harrison, chapter chief for the Pelathe District, which is part of Douglas County.

Also, attending the banquet were Scoutmaster John Richards, assistant Scoutmasters Joe Bollig, Tom Farmer and Robert Lawrenze, and Scouts Nate Clem, Ben Foster and Dylan Slavin.

Glenn E. Sharp II and Thomas W. Volek were two of 28 volunteers recognized by the Boy Scouts of America with the prestigious Silver Beaver Award.

The award is authorized by the National Council of the Boy Scouts of America and is the highest level of recognition a local Boy Scout council can bestow on a volunteer leader. This year’s recipients were recognized at the Heart of America Council’s Annual Recognition Dinner on Nov. 18 in Kansas City, Mo.

Eagle Scout Sharp has distinguished himself in the positions of Scoutmaster, assistant Scoutmaster and crew advisor. Sharp has provided leadership as district chairman, district vice chairman and district camping chairman. A Brotherhood member of the Order of the Arrow and honorary warrior in the Tribe of Mic-O-Say, he has been recognized with the District Award of Merit, Venture Training Award and Scouter’s Training Award. Sharp, a former chairman of the board of Wellsville Baptist Church, is an active member of the Paola Rotary Club, Kansas Bar Association, Federalist Society, and has been decorated with the Bronze Star, four Meritorious Service Medals and two Army Commendation Medals.

Eagle Scout Volek has distinguished himself in leadership positions of Cubmaster and committee chairman for Cub Scout Pack 3057, St. John Catholic Church and assistant Scoutmaster in Boy Scout Troop 55, Westside Presbyterian Church in the Lawrence. He has provided leadership as member of the Pelathe District committee and the district training committee. Volek, a Woodbadge Trained leader and Brotherhood member of the Order of the Arrow, has also provided leadership to the camping program of the Heart of America Council by serving on the staff at the Naish Scout Reservation, the H. Roe Bartle Scout Reservation and Boy Scout Rotary Camp. A sagamore in the Tribe of Mic-O-Say, Volek is an associate professor and associate dean at the William Allen White School of Journalism at Kansas University, where he has been recognized with the Kemper Teaching Award.

Troop 53 took their first trip on Jan. 16 to Snow Creek in Weston, Mo. More than 40 boys and leaders spent the day skiing and snowboarding. Everyone took a break in the afternoon, while the leaders were preparing to serve beef stew. After dinner, the boys enjoyed a session of night tubing and also worked on the Winter Sports merit badge.

Troop 53 conducted its Winter Court of Honor on Feb. 8. The Scouts earned 22 rank advancements and were awarded 18 merit badges.

Scouts advancing in rank were: Nathan Herries, Josh Kallenbach and Jordan Patrick, tenderfoot; Brett Carey, Spencer Conrad, Matthew Eagle, Kody Gray, Nathaniel Hoopes, Josh Kallenbach, Matthew Meseke, Gabriel Mullen and Cole Overton, second class; and Brett Carey, Nathaniel Hoopes, Josh Kallenbach, Ethan Kallenberger, Gabriel Magee and Cole Overton, first class. Ross Chumbley, Andrei Elliot, Connor Harman, Anthony Van Schmus and Trenton Shambaugh earned star, and Luke Lesslie, Alex McKinsey, Brian Morris and Sean Morris earned life.

Scouts earning merit badges were: Ross Chumbley, cooking; Joey Cunningham and Andrei Elliot, personal management; Carson Gilliland and Matt Pribbenow, woodcarving; John Hambleton, Elliot Jess, Geoffrey Keys, Alex McKinsey, Matthew Meseke, Gabriel Mullen and Aiden Schaplowsky, swimming; Connor Harman, Luke Lesslie and Anthony Van Schmus, emergency preparedness; Luke Lesslie, citizenship in the community; and Matt Siler, leatherwork and rifle.

Boy Scout Troop 60 participated in Scout Sunday Feb. 7 at First Baptist Church in Lawrence. Scouts participating were Andy and Matt Dominguez, Caelan Golledge, Jake Keary, Tyler Kendrick, Steven Ozaki, Darren Rawlings and Will Schrader. The Scouts helped with ushering, communion and reading scriptures and told the church about the troop. Adult leaders attending were Dave Ozaki, Deb Keary, Deb and Richard Rawlings, Janell Schrader and Beth Knapik.

Perry Senior/Ambassador Girl Scout Troop 7635 will be host to an International Thinking Day celebration from 11:30 a.m. to 3 p.m. today at the Perry American Legion. Thinking Day is a time for girls to learn about Girl Scouting in other countries. Troops will share information, foods and crafts about their chosen countries with other troops from the area. Troop 7635 is also collecting items to be included in health kits for Haiti as part of a future service project.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.