Archive for Monday, December 27, 2010

Dole Institute to host series on noteworthy presidents of 20th century

December 27, 2010


Former Dole Institute of Politics Director Richard Norton Smith has made his picks for who would be on a 20th century Mount Rushmore, and will share those in an upcoming lecture series at the institute.

The four lectures on Ronald Reagan, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Dwight D. Eisenhower and Woodrow Wilson will compose the 2011 Presidential Lecture Series at the institute.

Dates and times for the lectures are:

• Ronald Reagan, 3 p.m. Sunday, Jan. 30, at the Dole Institute. Smith and Dole Institute Director Bill Lacy, a former Reagan political director, will reminisce about the nation’s 40th president as what would have been Reagan’s 100th birthday approaches.

A public reception for Smith will follow at 4:30 p.m. at the Seymour Gallery in the Lied Center.

• Franklin D. Roosevelt, 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 16, at the Dole Institute. Lacy will interview Smith, and they will discuss Roosevelt’s presidency and his significance as a Democratic president.

• Dwight D. Eisenhower, 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 23, at the Dole Institute. Smith will explain why Eisenhower should be included among the top presidents of the century.

• Woodrow Wilson, 7:30 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 24, at the Dole Institute. Smith will detail Wilson’s accomplishment and argue for his inclusion on the mountainside.

Also part of the lecture series is a book event featuring KU communication studies professor Robin Rowland. He will discuss his new book “Reagan at Westminster,” at 3 p.m. Friday, Feb. 18, at the Dole Institute.

The book offers insight into Reagan’s address to the houses of British Parliament predicting the fall of communism from a rhetorical and historical perspective.

A book sale and signing will follow the event.


MustHaveSalt 7 years, 3 months ago

But Teddy Roosevelt, a president FROM the 20th century, really is on Mt. Rushmore, and he gets excluded. Confusing.

Richard Crank 7 years, 3 months ago

Maybe because he was a progressive Republican and not the current ultra-regressive ones.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.