Archive for Saturday, August 14, 2010

Around and about

August 14, 2010


Fort Hays State University announces area students awarded degrees in the spring 2010 semester.

Students earning Bachelor of General Studies degrees are: Brian Gresnick, Baldwin City; Deana Arnette-Maze, Bonner Springs; Nathan Bachert, Jared Rosebaugh and David Stricklen, Lawrence; and Donielle Summers, Ottawa.

Earning bachelor’s degrees in animal science were: Erica Wasson, Baldwin City; Amanda Hermann, Meriden; and Jason Smelser, Oskaloosa.

Other students earning bachelor’s degrees were: Andrew Avila (graphic design), Audrey Corkill (nursing), Jesse D’Angelo (information networking and telecommunications, Web development) and Heather Miller (studio art and psychology), Lawrence; Shawn Dillon, (organizational leadership), Ottawa; and Michael Holton (general agriculture) and Kelly Nitz (nursing), Tonganoxie.

Christopher Meinhardt, Lawrence, was named to the dean’s list for the spring 2010 quarter at DePaul University in Chicago, by earning a cumulative grade-point average of 3.5 or above.

Two area students received master’s degrees from Fort Hays State University during the spring 2010 semester.

They are: Angela Kennedy, humanities, Eudora; and Michelle Dusang, adaptive special education, Ottawa.

Emily Edwards, Lawrence, was named to the spring 2010 dean’s list, earning high honors, at Cornell College, Mount Vernon, Iowa. High honors are awarded to students with a grade-point average between 3.8 and 3.99.

Cypress Frankenfeld of Lawrence, a graduate of Free State High School, was awarded a half-tuition scholarship to attend the Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering in Needham, Mass., this fall.

The college offers half-tuition merit scholarships, valued at more than $75,000 per student, to all admitted undergraduates, supported through a grant from the F.W. Olin Foundation.

Georgia Lucky Palos, and Justin Henry Shiney, Lawrence, announce the birth of their son, Leonidas Henry Palos Shiney, on Aug. 4, 2010, at the Topeka Birth & Women’s Center.

Leonidas’ maternal grandparents are Dean and Dianna Palos; his paternal grandparents are Lee and Lajean Shiney, and Linda White.

His great-grandparents are Fred and Mystel Shiney.

Hannah Frydman, daughter of Amy Lee and Rick Frydman of Lawrence, was named a first group scholar and named to the dean’s list for the 2009-10 school year at Smith College in Northampton, Mass.

First group scholars generally represent the top 10 percent of the class; those with a grade-point average of 3.33 or above are named to the dean’s list.

Frydman, a graduate of Free State High School, is majoring in history.

Ryan Berry, Lawrence, was awarded a bachelor’s degree in art history May 16 from the University of Rochester in New York. Berry, a graduate of Free State High School, is the son of Walter and Catherine Berry.

Guerin Frei, Joshua Milota and Brandon Bledsoe, all of Lawrence, graduated from Level 1 of the Future Astronaut Training Program at the Kansas Cosmosphere and Space Center in Hutchinson.

Guerin, son of Mark and Brenda Frei, will be a sixth-grader at Sunflower School this fall. Joshua, son of Barry and Vanessa Milota, will be a freshman at West Junior High School, and Brandon, son of Tanya Ward and Gary Bledsoe II, will be an eighth-grader at Southwest Junior High School.

The four-day, introductory astronaut camp is for students entering grades 6-8 and emphasizes teamwork, leadership and problem solving. Throughout the week, campers train in space simulators, launch homemade rockets, and design and direct a robotic mission.

Charlie and Emily Arnold, children of Lori and Tim Arnold, all of Lawrence, graduated from Level 2 of the Future Astronaut Training Program (FATP) July 17 at the Kansas Cosmosphere and Space Center in Hutchinson.

Charlie will be an eighth-grader at Bishop Seabury Academy this fall, and Emily will be a sophomore at Bishop Seabury Academy.

The weeklong camp, for students entering grades 8-10, emphasizes teamwork, leadership, problem solving and builds on knowledge gained from FATP Level 1.

FATP Level 2 incorporates aspects of astronaut training with advanced courses in space shuttle systems, space science and physiology, and microgravity science.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.