Archive for Saturday, November 14, 2009

Scouting news

November 14, 2009


Boy Scout Troop 59, a centennial quality unit chartered to First Presbyterian Church, had its fall Court of Honor on Oct. 25 in the church fellowship hall, with the theme “History of Scouting” as an introduction to the coming 100th Anniversary of the Boy Scouts of America in 2010.

First Class Scout Kyle Vogelsang served as Master of Ceremonies. Assistant Senior Patrol Leaders Reid Williams and Liam Inbody opened the ceremony with the Pledge of Allegiance followed by the Scouts reciting the Scout Oath and Law. The Scouts received a total of 205 merit badges, which were awarded to: Tristan Alfie, Brandon Botkin, Cory Church, Matthew Day, Tristan Delnevo, Zachary Denny, George Depenbusch, Jacob Divilbiss, Sam Dowell, Sam Dykes, Josh Eisenhauer, Tony Esparza, Briggs Fish, James Fredrickson, Jon Gabler, Phil Gabler, Andrew Hahn, Ty Hartman, Dustin Hauptman, Garrett Hodge, Josh Hodge, Kieran Inbody, Liam Inbody, Steele Jacobs, Randall Jameson, Nathan Kappelman, Alex Kong, Noah Koppes, Trevor Leslie, Justin Lewis, K.C. McLaughlin, Luke Oberrieder, Chase Odgers, Sam Oliver, Anish Patel, Luke Peirce, Jack Powell, Scott Ragan, Jake Rogers, Levi Sedlock, Josh Seybert, Tanner Smith, Taylor Smith, Christopher Toalson, Kyle Vogelsang, Evan Willams, Reid Williams and Keenan Wycoff.

Advancing to the rank of Tenderfoot were: Tristan Delnevo, Zach Denny, Sam Dykes, Josh Eisenhauer, Garrett Hodge, Kieran Inbody, Steele Jacobs, Noah Koppes, K.C. McLaughlin, Chase Odgers, Andrew Solcher and Christopher Toalson.

Second Class: Tristan Delnevo, Zach Denny, Josh Eisenhauer, Kieran Inbody, Steele Jacobs, Noah Koppes, K.C. McLaughlin and Christopher Toalson.

Star: George Depenbusch, Jacob Divilbiss, Briggs Fish, Ty Hartman, Dustin Hauptman, Nathan Kappelman, Sam Oliver, Levi Sedlock, Tanner Smith, Taylor Smith and Evan Williams.

Life Scout: Cory Church, Matthew Day, James Fredrickson, Josh Seybert and Reid Williams.

New Eagle Scouts recognized were Henry Chapman, John Fredrickson, Derek Kappelman, Ryan Marienau and Derrick Weishaar.

Special awards earned: God and Country Religious Award — Nathan Kappelman; Recruiter Badge — Matthew Day, Sam Dowell and Justin Lewis; Mile Swim — Taylor Smith; and the 50 Miler Award — Scouts James Fredrickson and Liam Inbody, and Assistant Scoutmasters Ed Day and Phil Wrigley.

The Order of the Arrow, the national honor camping society of the BSA, inducted Scouts Matthew Day, Frank Depenbusch, James Fredrickson and Luke Oberrieder plus Troop Committee Member Kevin Fredrickson as new Ordeal Arrowmen. Advancing to Brotherhood was assistant Scoutmaster Mike Oberrieder. Assistant Scoutmaster Brian Workman, who earned his Eagle Scout with Troop 59, was recognized for his selection to the highest distinction in the Order of the Arrow, the Honor Vigil.

The following troop members participated in ceremonies for the Tribe of Mic-O-Say — the honor camping organization of the Heart of America Council — during summer camp at the H. Roe Bartle Scout Reservation, and were recognized at the Court of Honor. Receiving Foxman recognition were Tristan Alfie, Brandon Botkin, Sam Dowell, Briggs Fish, Phil Gabler, Josh Hodge, Nathan Kappelman, Luke Oberrieder, Anish Patel, Jake Rogers and Levi Sedlock. Inducted into the Tribe as new Braves were Matthew Day, Frank Depenbusch, James Fredrickson, Liam Inbody, Chase Low, Luke Peirce, Scott Ragan, Josh Seybert, Reid Williams and Keenan Wycoff. Warriors receiving orange paint responsibilities as a Firebuilder were Connor Caldwell, Sam Corkins, Patrick Fay, Harrison Helmick, Alex Kong, Trevor Leslie and James Windholz. Four adult leaders also were inducted as Honorary Warriors: Mike Oberrieder, Jacob Paquette, Patrick Smith and David Williams.

Scoutmaster Mark Stogsdill selected Connor Caldwell and James Windholz to serve as junior assistant Scoutmasters, a distinction reserved for those Life or Eagle Scouts age 16 or 17 who previously have served as both Troop Guide and Senior Patrol Leader and are continuing to provide positive, active leadership to the troop.

Outgoing senior patrol leader Alex Kong was recognized for his term of office. Scott Ragan was sworn in as the troop’s new senior patrol leader, after which he led the troop in the retiring of the colors. Mark Stogsdill closed the Court of Honor with his Scoutmaster’s Minute, followed by recognition of Kyle Vogelsang for serving as the MC.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.