Archive for Saturday, May 9, 2009

Around and about

May 9, 2009


The St. John Mexican Fiesta Scholarship committee announces the 2009 scholarship winners: Joseph Kenney, son of Joe and Dolores Lemus-Kenney; and Erika Green, daughter of Michael and Christine Wenger. Both are seniors at Lawrence High School.

• Logan Keasling, a 2008 Free State High graduate, was awarded a Chi Omega scholarship for the 2009 school year. The scholarship was awarded to an active member of the sorority based on leadership, philanthropy, grade-point average and campus involvement. Keasling, a freshman business major at Kansas State University, is the daughter of Tami Keasling.

The Overbrook Rural High School alumni banquet will be May 23 at the Overbrook United Methodist Church, 1005 N. Maple St., Overbrook. Dinner will be served at 6 p.m. Cost is $12 per person, with reservations due May 16. Send a check including the names of those attending and year of graduation to O.R.H.S. Alumni Association, P.O. Box 277, Overbrook, KS 66524. For more information, call (785) 828-4940 or (785) 836-3300.

• Daniel Armenta and Brett Reineman of Free State High School are the recipients of $1,000 scholarships to Wichita Area Technical College. More than 1,000 high school and college student members from 61 Kansas schools competed in this year’s events at WATC April 15-17.

Armenta earned the award by receiving the gold medal for architectural drafting, high school division, at the 2009 Kansas SkillsUSA Leadership Conference; Reineman earned the award by receiving a gold medal in Auto Service Technology. As gold medal winners, the students will represent Kansas at the national SkillsUSA Championships in Kansas City in June.

• Lacey Turner, Lawrence, is one of 27 Washburn University students selected for scholarships awarded by the English department.

Turner received the Ralph and Jeannette Young English Scholarship. She is a post-baccalaureate student pursuing a teaching license to teach English in grades 6-12.

• John Berkowitz, Lawrence, participated in Coe College’s Ninth Annual Student Research Symposium on April 8 in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Berkowitz’s symposium poster presentation, “Elucidation of Quadrupole Parameters by Simulation of 10B NMR Powder Patterns,” was sponsored by faculty member Dr. Steven Feller.

Berkowitz, a graduate of Free State High School, is the son of David and Katherine Berkowitz.

• Liam Smith, a senior at Bishop Seabury Academy, was named the recipient of the Lilly Scholarship, which will cover his tuition, fees, room and board, and is valued at $150,000 over four years.

Smith competed with 30 other students from across the country that will be attending Wabash College in Crawfordsville, Ind.

To qualify for the scholarship, students must have at least a 3.5 grade-point average, be in the top 20 percent of their classes and must have at least a 25 on the ACT or an SAT composite score of at least 1720.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.