Archive for Saturday, June 20, 2009

Club news

June 20, 2009


The Lawrence Sertoma Club conducted their 80th annual Inaugural Banquet on June 9 at the Masonic Lodge.

Jeff Messick of HMA Architects was named the Sertoman of the year by last year’s recipient, Thomas Howe.

Terry Cuthbertson, district governor of Sertoma International, installed officers for 2009-2010. They are: Tim Keller, Keller & Associates, president; Jane Wegner, Kansas University Schiefelbusch Clinic, board chairwoman; Sandra Studley, Douglas County Bank, president-elect; David Clark, Lawrence Bank, second vice president; Rob Gillespie, Central National Bank, treasurer; Thomas Howe, McGrew Realty, secretary and sergeant at arms. One-year directors are Wendy Blackwell, Blackwell Hearing; Matt Gillispie, KU Schiefelbusch Clinic; and Bernard Judge, retired. Two-year directors are Dee Bisel, Minuteman Press; John Golden, retired; and Messick.

• The Lawrence River City Cosmopolitan Club, a local service organization, raising funds in the fight against diabetes, conducted its federation convention April 24-26 in Wichita. The Mo-Kan Federation of the Cosmopolitan International organization, is comprised of 13 clubs in Kansas and Missouri. The Lawrence club earned first place awards for its yearbook and newsletter, with editor Tommy Johnson, and the Club Community Service award for providing diabetes supplies and other support to Health Care Access. Gary Bartlett received the highest honor for members, the Patrick J. Hodgins Distinguished Member award. The award, named after the founder of the Cosmopolitan International Club, is given to an individual for his service to club and the community. Bartlett has served as the Mo-Kan Federation governor and received the International Governor of the Year award at the convention last year in Colorado Springs, Colo. He will be in contention for the International Hodgins award at the annual convention July 29-Aug. 1 in New Orleans.

Over the Rainbow Doll Club met June 11 at the home of Janet Lukehart. The theme for the evening was “A Hawaiian Luau.” Members celebrated the second year of the club doll with birthday festivities. LouAnne Burgess and Brenda Owens provided information about Hawaii, along with favors and refreshments. Gail Brewster, Mikhaila and Mikhenna Brown wrote, read, and performed an original story about the club doll, Sophie. Members also exchanged birthday gifts in honor of the doll.

• University Bridge Club announces results of its annual spring party and dinner meeting June 10 at Alvamar Country Club with 11 tables playing. Hosts were Richard Quinn, Jo Anne Kready and Dan and Carolyn Harden.

Blue winners were Ray Ikenberry, first; Harold Riehm, second; John Golden, third; Mary Kanous, fourth; and Janet Dunn, fifth.

Pink winners were Carolyn Jordan, first; Bebe Huxtable, second; Jo Anne Kready, third; Mary Glasnapp, fourth; and Donna Riehm, fifth.

• The Wednesday Afternoon Duplicate Bridge Club’s game on June 10 was directed by Chris Lane. North-South winners were Harry Shaffer and Ed Howard, first in A; Adelaide Nyquist and John Fittell, second in A, first in B and C; Lester Dalton and Nita Scales, third in A and second in B; Patricia Lechtenberg and Chris Lane, fourth in A and third in B; Margrete Hartman and Marilyn Martin, tied in fourth and fifth in B, with Shirley Reese and Lois Clark; and Hartman and Martin were also second in C.

East-West winners were David Piro and Paul Heitzman, first in A; Jean Khatib and Jack Flickinger, second in A, first in B and C; Grant Sutton and Jack Mibeck, third in A and second in B; and Judy Bevan and Barbara McCorkle tied in fourth and fifth in A, and third and fourth in B, with Yvonne Hedges and Sally Taylor.

• The Friday Afternoon Duplicate Bridge Club’s game of June 12 was directed by Chris Lane. North-South winners were Jeane Landry and Ed Howard, first in A; Carol Ball and Chris Lane, second in A and first in B; Jack Flickinger and Dick Shaffer third in A, second in B, and first in C; and Don Daugherty and Harry Talley, fourth in A, third in B, and second in C.

East-West winners were Lois Clark and Craig Huneke, first in A, B and C; Elizabeth Jankord and Dick Claussen, second in A and B; Jeff Mermin and Hailong Dao, third in A and B; and Nita Scales and Mary Fenlon, fourth in A and B.

• The Monday Evening Duplicate Bridge Club’s game of June 15 was directed by Virginia Seaver. North-South winners were Hailong Dao and Jeff Mermin, first in A, B and C; Ed Howard and Kent McCullough, second in A; Mary Fenlon and Jean Otney, third in A; and Julia Dalton and Lester Dalton, second in B.

East-West winners were Craig Huneke and Virginia Seaver, first in A; Peter Petillo and Brian Barrett, second in A and first in B; Eldon Herd and Emily Foster, second in B; and Jim Stewart and Vince Nordberg, first in C.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.