Archive for Saturday, June 20, 2009

Around and about

June 20, 2009


Pascual and Kristi Laclé, Lawrence, announce the birth of their daughter, Emery Cate Laclé, May 26, 2009, at Overland Park Regional Medical Center.

Her grandparents are Dave and Phillis Durkin, Eudora, and Marie-Pierre Laclé-Fenárt, Haarlem, The Netherlands; and great-grandmother is Sue Durkin, Eudora.

Spencer Wilson, Eudora, was named to the dean’s list for the spring 2009 semester at Harding University, Searcy, Ark., by earning a cumulative grade-point average of 3.65 or higher.

Dennis Behrhorst, Lawrence, has been named a member of the American Angus Association, the largest beef cattle registry association in the world.

Brooke Sutherland, has earned honor roll status for the winter term at Washington and Lee University, Lexington, Va., by earning a grade-point average of at least 3.75.

Sutherland, a freshman at the university, is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Todd Sutherland, Lawrence.

Geoff Boyer, Wellsville, and Jessica Schwartz, Lawrence, were among 27 youth leaders selected to attend the 2009 Kansas Youth Leadership Forum for Students with Disabilities June 16-20 at Washburn University in Topeka. The theme was “Build Your Life One Layer at a Time.”

Through large and small sessions, delegates explored topics related to leadership. Other activities included a trip to the Capitol, a luncheon, a recreation session, a fair, a barbecue, a talent show and dance.

The University of Nebraska, Lincoln, announces area students earning non-resident transfer scholarships for 2009-2010.

Area students earning George Beadle Scholarships, a full tuition-differential scholarship, are: Monica Sorensen, freshman, Bonner Springs; and Colby Sostarich, freshman, Lawrence.

Area students earning Aaron Douglas Scholarships, a 25-percent tuition-differential scholarship, are: Veronica Grizzle, freshman, De Soto; and Brittany O’Donnell, Lawrence.

Bonnie Cochran, Tonganoxie, earned a Bachelor of Science degree in liberal studies with a focus in administrative/management studies May 15 from Excelsior College, Albany, N.Y. The commencement ceremony will be July 10 in Albany.

Rachel Weimer, Bonner Springs, earned the Midwest Student Exchange Program Scholarship at Missouri State University, Springfield, for the 2009-2010 academic year. Weimer was selected based on her ACT scores, academic standing in graduating class, community leadership and school activities.

Lauren Fry, Lawrence, earned a Bachelor of Science degree in nursing from Kansas University in May. Fry, daughter of Gordon and Leslie Fry, also was named to Sigma Theta Tau International, Honor Society of Nursing.

Blake Hocking, Lawrence, won first place in the Boys 13-15 years division in an arm wrestling tournament April 4 in St. Joseph, Mo. Athletes ranging in ages from 20 months to 66 years competed in the 24th Annual Pull for the Hungry, a yearly benefit for America’s Second Harvest Food Bank.

Kelly Hewins, a Lawrence graduate student in the Kansas University School of Nursing, has received the Froehlke Award for high scholastic achievement and leadership ability. The award is given by the KU Nurses Alumni Association and was presented May 16 at Johnson County Community College.

Joseph Whalen, Lawrence, earned a Master of Science degree in molecular and cellular biology from Oregon State University, Corvallis, Ore. The commencement ceremony was June 13 at Reser Stadium.

Haylee Tubbs, Lawrence, earned the Top Junior Student Award at Drake University, Des Moines, Iowa. The award is given to third-year students demonstrating leadership abilities and involvement in the campus community.

Tubbs is an assistant residence hall coordinator for Morehouse Hall, a member of Alpha Kappa Psi and a member of the National Residence Hall Honorary Society.

Bethany College, Lindsborg, announces area students earning degrees. Commencement ceremonies were May 24 on campus. Area students are: Zachary Blevins, Bachelor of Arts, management; Ashley Coffman, Bachelor of Music Education, vocal music teaching, magna cum laude, Lawrence; and Mary Herrick, Bachelor of Social Work, Ottawa.

Amanda Stroud, Basehor, was named to the dean’s list with high honors for the spring 2009 semester at Northwestern College, St. Paul, Minn., by earning a grade-point average between 3.75 to 3.89.

Kansas Wesleyan University, Salina, announces its president’s honor roll for the spring 2009 semester, for students earning a grade-point average of 3.75 or higher. Area students are: Kristina Clark, Eudora; Marlon Beach, Lawrence; and Ashley Winters, Meriden.

Baker University’s College of Arts and Sciences and School of Education announces students named to the dean’s list for the spring 2009 semester, for earning a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher. Area students are:

Baldwin City — Parker Duncan, William Duncan, Aaron Hannon, Andrew Hannon, Kelsey Heckathorne, Amanda Helm, Jessica Hill, Tessa Petersen, Catherine Richards, Amber Smith, Ashley Snedeger and Carly Young.

De Soto — Austin DeGraeve, Meredith Hodges, Douglas Ireland and Katherine Schmidt.

Eudora — Kelsey Epperson and Katy Kendrick.

Lawrence — Kelsey Allen, Ashleigh Armstrong, Cara Breeden, Heidi Compton, Amanda Garrison, Sharrod Greene, Danita Long, Hillary Long, Eric Loux, Jessica Mulvaney, Darcey Nance, Chelsey Ornburn, Caroline Pugh, Jason Vitale, Philip Weinmaster and Adrienne Willems.

Lecompton — Sarah Henry.

Oskaloosa — Chelsey Forge.

Overbrook — Brooke Pryor and Samantha Waldman.

Perry — David Foltz and Adam O’Trimble.

Tonganoxie — Garrett Chumley and Eli Jones.

Lucca Wang, Lawrence, graduated from Adams Academy, an intensive leadership development opportunity for small groups of students offered at Drake University, Des Moines, Iowa. The academy is a component of the Donald V. Adams Institute, established by Drake alumni and friends to help students develop new abilities and a strong commitment to community service.

Wang was one of 173 students earning recognition in ceremony April 17.

Kaela Severa, Lawrence, was recognized at the Rockhurst University Student Achievement Reception April 22.

Severa received honors for having the highest cumulative grade-point average in the freshman class, based on the completion of the fall semester.

Kansas University’s Alpha chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, academic honor society, initiated 116 members May 16. Students must have senior class status and a minimum grade-point average of 3.65, to be considered for membership.

Lawrence area students are: Marie Byleen-Higley, Rachel Koch, Gina Lorenz, Deana Olsen, Brenna Tompson Daldorph, Erin Truitt, Benjamin Chapin, Nathan Mack Jr., Sean Borton, Carol Liang, Rachelle Netzer and Jaimie Sakumura.

Other area students are: Cynthia Polsley, Ottawa.

John Berkowitz, Lawrence, was named to the dean’s list for the spring 2009 semester at Coe College, Cedar Rapids, Iowa, by earning a grade-point average of 3.9 or higher. He also earned the Richard C. and Jennifer H. Hunt Prize for mathematics.

Berkowitz, a 2007 graduate of Free State High School, is the son of David and Katherine Berkowitz.

Megan Hrenchir, a Lawrence sophomore, was named to dean’s list for the spring of 2009 semester at Newberry College, Newberry, S.C., by earning a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher.

Erin Levy, a Lawrence sophomore, was named to dean’s list for the spring of 2009 semester at Beloit College, Beloit, Wis., by earning a grade-point average of 3.4 or higher.

Brooke Carter, Lawrence, and Danielle Wellman, Meriden, were named to president’s honor roll for the spring of 2009 semester at Missouri Western State University, St. Joseph, Mo., by earning a 4.0 grade-point average.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.