Archive for Saturday, June 13, 2009

Around and about

June 13, 2009


Patrick Monahan, Tonganoxie, earned the Community Award at Doane College, Crete, Neb., in recognition of superior academic performance. The award, valued at $5,000 per year, is awarded to incoming students with a minimum ACT score of 21 and a core high-school grade-point average of 3.0.

• Trevor Everett, a student at Free State High School, was awarded an Emerson National Scholarship. Winners of the Emerson scholarship receive $1,500 per academic year for four years.

Everett is among 30 recipients of the scholarship, awarded annually to children of employees of Emerson Process Management Systems & Solutions in Overland Park. He is the son of Edward S. Everett, a technical consultant at the firm, and plans to attend Stanford University or Rice University and study physics.

• Tyler Cordts, Overbrook, graduated cum laude with a bachelor’s degree in history from Central College, Pella, Iowa, in May, by earning a cumulative grade-point average between 3.5 to 3.699.

Cordts is a graduate of Santa Fe Trail High School and the son of John and Elizabeth Cordts.

• Lydia Thomas, Lawrence, was named to the spring 2009 dean’s list at the University of Central Missouri, Warrensburg, by earning a grade-point average between 3.5 and 3.99.

• Haley Armstrong, Lawrence, earned a Master of Music Education degree in December 2008 from Indiana University, Bloomington.

• Parker Donahey, Lawrence, was named to the spring 2009 honor roll at Cloud County Community College, by earning a grade-point average of 3.6 or higher.

• Aliza Rosenthal, Lawrence, received the Top Sophomore Award from Drake University, Des Moines, Iowa. The award is given to second-year students demonstrating leadership abilities and involvement in the campus community. Rosenthal is a Carpenter Hall resident assistant, president of U.G.A.N.D.A. Youth and mitzvah chair of Drake Hillel.

• Pittsburg State University announces area students earning degrees. Commencement exercises were May 15-16 in the Garfield Weede Physical Education Building on campus.

Earning Bachelor of Business Administration degrees: Adam Smith, Basehor; and Ross Turney, Bonner Springs.

Bachelor of Science degrees: Emery Baughan, Baldwin City; Lindsay Parsons, Basehor; Jeryka Lobner, De Soto; Ashley Taylor, Lawrence; Emma Prochaska, McLouth; and Michelle McCullough, Oskaloosa.

Bachelor of Science in technology: Andrew Hoffman, Basehor; Matthew Merz, Meriden; Matthew Bachelor, Ottawa; Jacob Dornbrack, Tonganoxie; and Jacob Swoyer, Winchester.

Bachelor of Science in education: Valerie Brungardt, Berryton; Brett Hothan, Tecumseh; and Jeffey Gibbens, Tonganoxie.

Bachelor of Science in engineering technology: Benjamin Naumann, Meriden. Master of Arts degrees: Connie Rohus, Basehor; and Ryan Fox, Lawrence.

Master of Science degrees: Daniel Wallsmith, Baldwin City; Anna Nimz, Berryton; Candice Cameron, Bonner Springs; and Adrian Hunt and Margaret Maczuga, Lawrence.

Earning Master of Business Administration degrees: Jaime Walker and Sarah Didde, Ottawa.

Earning a two-year certificate in a technical program was Aaron Kichler, Ottawa.

• The University of Saint Mary, Leavenworth, an-nounces students named to its spring 2009 dean’s honor roll, by earning a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher. Area students are: Zachary Durr, Baldwin City; Janae Garcia, Sandra Lumley and Lisa Wynn, Basehor; Ryan Berry, Nicole Hendrix, Kathleen Hermesch and Jennie Hull, Lawrence; Michelle Chrisman and Shannon Raines, Linwood; Addie Heim, McLouth; Kayla Beggs, Alex Nowasell, Jamie Spruk, Jerriann Yorkovich and Deborah Zerrer, Tonganoxie.

• Abby Schuh, 2005 Free State High School graduate, earned a Bachelor of Arts degree with a dual major in history and art history from Indiana University May 9. During her time at Indiana University, she spent a year abroad at the University of Kent, in Canterbury, England, where she also earned a diploma in history.

Schuh has accepted a job with U.S. Public Interest Research Group and will move to San Francisco in August.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.